Home ZKM-Kosmos laden ZKM-Kosmos schließen ZKM-Kosmos öffnen Search menu Languages

Search form

Red plaque with "Giga-Hertz-Award" in white letters

Giga-Hertz Award

Since 2007 the Giga-Hertz Award for electronic music has been jointly awarded by the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics and the Freiburg EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of the SWR.

Giga-Hertz Award 2018

This year, the Giga-Hertz Award is endowed with a total of 20,000 €. This year, the Giga-Hertz Award will be presented for the eleventh time. The Giga-Hertz First Prize for Lifetime Achievement is determined through recommendations from members of the jury. As well as the €10,000 prize money which comes with the Giga-Hertz First Prize, there are also two €5000 internationally oriented Giga-Hertz Production Prizes for initiating and promoting new projects and are directed at artists and composers of electronic or electro-acoustic music as well as mixed music.

The award-giving ceremony takes place on Saturday, November 24, 2018.

The Giga-Hertz Award is dedicated to world-famous physicist Heinrich Hertz (1857–1894) who discovered electromagnetic waves at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) where he taught at the end of the nineteenth century.  The award was arranged as an initiative of the ZKM | Center for Art and Media. 

Giga-Hertz Grand Prize for Lifetime Achievement

The Giga-Hertz Grand Award of 10,000 € distinguishes renowned composers for their lifetime achievement. The prize is based on jury recommendations rather than an open call.

Giga-Hertz Special Prizes

The two internationally oriented Giga-Hertz Special Prizes are each endowed with 5,000 €. They serve to initiate and promote of new projects and are directed at composers of electronic and acousmatic music.

The application for special prizes takes place in two stages:

  1. With the submission of a reference work no more than five years old and no longer than twenty minutes. This work forms the basis for the jury’s evaluation, and should clearly use electronic-technical means. Furthermore, in the case of selection by the jury, the work in question should be presentable with minimum technical effort.
  2. A project exposé of a new, projected work should also be submitted. The prizewinners' newly created works will premier as part of the Giga-Hertz Award ceremony in the following year. The realization of these works takes place by the jury's decision whether at the EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of the SWR or at the ZKM | IMA. (The project proposal can be modified to match the production resources available at the respective studios.)

Information about the Giga-Hertz Award winners of the past years as well as video recordings of the past Giga-Hertz Award festivals can be found at http://zkm.de/en/project/giga-hertz-award.


Logo ZKM | Close Cosmos