Martine Neddam

Year of birth, place
1953, Oran, France
Role at the ZKM
Artist of the Collection
Biography

Martine Neddam, a native of France resident in Amsterdam since 1994, is an artist, research scientist and professor. She uses language as raw material for her art, and many of her works center on the phenomena of speech acts, approaches to communication as well as to language and writing in public space – an interest which goes back to her studies in linguistics from 1975 to 1979. She has been producing text objects (banners, placards, signs) and projecting shadow texts onto museum and gallery walls since 1988. Furthermore, she has also carried out large-format, public contracts in Holland, France and Great Britain.

She has been working with virtual characters since 1996, the first and most famous one being Mouchette which, with respect to the history of Net Art, represents altogether one of the most outstanding works. Mouchette is a fictive thirteen-year-old that has meanwhile acquired cult status, which declines the complete vocabulary of early Web developments with respect to the identity of the Internet’s technical infrastructure. Neddam’s virtual personae function as communications tools such that they have already facilitated the exchange between human beings via the medium of the artistic figure, and thereby anticipated the functionality of Web 2.0.

Some time ago now, the artist, who had previously been completely anonymous on the Web, revealed the secret surrounding Mouchette or David Still, and officially works as a restorer on aging code. Furthermore, Neddam archives the material and devotes herself to the preservation of pages threatened with dissolution. Her characters also serve for the derivation of works in other media. Thus, in 2007, Neddam designed animations from the data inventories of Mouchette for the exhibition »Knotenpunkte« [Nodes] (http://www.knotenpunkte.net, Station Museum of Contemporary Art Siegen).

Since then, namely, in the animations, a path to contemporary works such as »MyDesktopLife« can be discerned. Here, she reverses the promise of participation, and places the viewer in a notorious role: while not being able to participate, he must observe. Her tranquil, poetic attitude to the realm of drawing in which we all move is of disconcerting beauty and, occasionally, uncanny poetry. Her work is influenced by those modern magicians of language James Joyce, Virginia Woolfe or Marcel Proust. She also draws on the filmic works of Chris Marker for inspiriation, above all his usage of language.


Martine Neddam also works as a teacher at Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam, and is a regular guest professor at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM).

Startseite ZKM-Kosmos laden ZKM-Kosmos schließen ZKM-Kosmos öffnen Suche Menü Sprachen

Suchformular

Das ZKM

Martine Neddam

Geburtsjahr, Ort
1953, Frankreich
Rolle am ZKM
Künstler/in der Sammlung
Biografie

Martine Neddam, gebürtige Französin, ist Künstlerin, Forscherin und Professorin. Sie lebt seit 1994 in Amsterdam und nutzt Sprache als Rohmaterial für ihre Kunst. Seit sie als Künstlerin arbeitet, drehen sich viele ihrer Werke um Sprechakte, Kommunikationsweisen sowie Sprache und Schrift im öffentlichen Raum, ein Interesse, das sich ihres Studiums der Linguistik (1975-1979) verdankt. Seit 1988 produziert sie Textobjekte (Banner, Plaketten, Schilder) und projiziert Schattentexte auf Museums- und Galerienwände. Überdies realisierte sie großformatige, öffentliche Aufträge in den Niederlanden, Frankreich und Großbritannien.

Seit 1996 arbeitet sie mit virtuellen Charakteren, von den ihre erste, Mouchette, die berühmteste ist und die mit Blick auf die Geschichte der Netzkunst eine der herausragendsten Arbeiten überhaupt darstellt. Mouchette ist eine fiktive 13-Jährige, die mittlerweile Kultstatus besitzt und das vollständige Vokabular des frühen, sich entwickelnden Webs mit Blick auf Identität in der technischen Infrastruktur des Internets dekliniert. Neddams virtuelle Personae fungieren als Kommunikationswerkzeuge, etwa indem sie früh schon den Austausch zwischen Menschen über das Medium der Kunstfigur ermöglichten und so Funktionsweisen des Web 2.0 vorwegnahmen.

Die zuvor im Web vollkommen anonym agierende Künstlerin hat seit einiger Zeit das Geheimnis um Mouchette oder David Still gelüftet und arbeitet ganz offiziell restauratorisch an veraltetem Code. Zudem archiviert Neddam das Material und setzt sich damit für den Erhalt von Seiten ein, die vom Verschwinden bedroht sind. Zudem dienen ihre Charaktere auch zur Ableitung von Arbeiten in anderen Medien. So gestaltete Neddam 2007 für die Ausstellung »Knotenpunkte« (http://www.knotenpunkte.net, Station Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen) Animationen aus den Datenbeständen von Mouchette.

Gerade in den Animationen findet sich seitdem ein Pfad zu aktuellen Arbeiten wie »MyDesktopLife«. Hier kehrt sie die Verheißung des Mitmachens um und versetzt den Betrachter in eine altbekannte Rolle: Mitmachen kann er nicht, aber zuschauen muss er. Ihre stille, poetische Sicht auf das Reich der Zeichen, in dem wir uns alle bewegen, ist von befremdlicher Schönheit und teilweise unheimlicher Poesie. Ihr Werk ist beeinflusst von den Sprachmagiern der Moderne, etwa von James Joyce, Virginia Woolfe oder Marcel Proust. Darüber hinaus bezieht sie sich auf das filmische Werk von Chris Marker, vor allem auf dessen Verwendung von Sprache.

Martine Neddam arbeitet ferner als Lehrerin an der Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam und ist regelmäßig Gastprofessorin an der University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM).

Logo ZKM | Kosmos schließen