BS DC Import ID
node:24930
BS DC Import Time

Olaf Bender

© photo: Olaf Bender, Chemnitz/Berlin

Year of birth, place

1968
Germany

Biography

Olaf Bender's (a.k.a. byetone) experimental work traces back to first experiments with the medium film in the 1980s. Due to these experiments, he came into contact with the east-german underground band AG Geige of which he became a permanent member in 1988. By working with this group he got into musical aspects.

After the fall of the Berlin wall in 1989, he was working for a music distributor. The experiences he collected there led to the idea of publishing his own music by himself. together with Frank Bretschneider. They founded the record label rastermusic in 1996. With rastermusic, they wanted to publish their own electronic music projects and those of other similar working artists. The special process of creating electronic sound should be reflected also in the graphical presentation of the label and its products. One of the earliest rastermusic productions was the project signal which Olaf Bender has been continuing together with Bretschneider and Nicolai until today. Nicolai owned the sublabel noton, which finally merged with rastermusic to raster-noton in 1999.

Beside the management of raster-noton, Olaf Bender is responsible for the graphic design and public appearance of the label. Additionally, he performs solo under the pseudonym byetone.

Bender creates his music digitally. He assembles sine tones to complex sound fabrics. Digital clicks and effect plug-ins are essential to create the rhythms. Bender further uses visuals in the sense of animated light; abstract animations support the abstract pieces of music, so that the rhythm of the music is transformed into a graphic equivalent.

(2016)

Footer

ZKM | Center for Art and Media

Lorenzstraße 19
76135 Karlsruhe

+49 (0) 721 - 8100 - 1200
info@zkm.de

Organization

Dialog

Startseite ZKM-Kosmos laden ZKM-Kosmos schließen ZKM-Kosmos öffnen Suche Menü Sprachen

Suchformular

Das ZKM

Olaf Bender

Schwarz-weiß Porträt eines Mannes
Geburtsjahr, Ort
1968, Chemnitz, Deutschland
Gruppe
Biografie

Unter seinem Pseudonym byetone konstruiert Olaf Bender aus Sinustönen komplexe Klangstrukturen, für die die Arbeit mit digitalen Klicks und Effekt-Plug-Ins wesentlich ist. Außerdem verwendet Bender Visuals im Sinne von animiertem Licht; abstrakte Animationen unterstreichen den ebenso abstrakten Sound, sodass der musikalische Rhythmus in seine graphische Entsprechung umgewandelt wird.

Das experimentelle Werk von Olaf Bender geht bis in die 1980er-Jahre zurück, in denen er anfing, mit dem Medium Film zu experimentieren. Zu dieser Zeit kam er mir der ostdeutschen Undergroundband AG Geige in Kontakt, der er 1988 als festes Mitglied beitrat. Durch die Arbeit mit dieser Gruppe fand er Zugang zur Welt der Musik.

Nach dem Mauerfall 1989 arbeitete er zunächst für einen Musikhändler. Die Erfahrungen, die er dort sammelte, führten ihn zu der Idee, zusammen mit Frank Bretschneider seine eigene Musik selbst herauszubringen. 1996 gründeten sie das Plattenlabel rastermusic. Mit rastermusic wollten sie ihre eigenen Projekte auf dem Gebiet der elektronischen Musik und auch die von anderen, ähnlich arbeitenden Künstlern herausbringen. Die Besonderheiten des Schaffensprozesses elektronischer Klänge sollten sich auch in der graphischen Aufmachung des Labels und seiner Produkte widerspiegeln. Eine der ersten Produktionen von rastermusic war das Projekt signal, das Olaf Bender zusammen mit Bretschneider und Nicolai bis heute fortführt. Nicolai gehörte das Unterlabel noton, das sich 1999 schließlich mit rastermusic zusammentat und zu raster-noton wurde.

Neben der Leitung von raster-noten ist Olaf Bender verantwortlich für das Graphikdesign und den öffentlichen Auftritt des Labels. Außerdem tritt er solo unter dem Pseudonym byetone auf.

Stand: Januar 2016

Logo ZKM | Kosmos schließen