BioMedien

The Age of Media with Life-like Behavior

The Age of Media with Life-like Behavior
The Age of Media with Life-like Behavior
Duration
0:42
Category
Exhibition
Description

Who or what defines on what is alive and what is intelligent? Can artificial forms of life be empathetic? What does the cooperation of human beings and artificial agents look like? What ethical questions arise? The exhibition »BioMedia« invites visitors to learn about and discuss possible forms of cohabitation between organic and artificial forms of life.

For centuries, humans have attempted to create machines that simulate life — from 16th century animatronics to pre-cinematic moving image devices. The 19th century was the dawning of the age of wheel-based motion machines, for example with bicycles, cars, and trains. This wheel-based technology gave way to the moving image, cinematography, the illusion of motion in the 20th century. An image that could actually imitate movement was a radical step towards the simulation of life, because up until this point, from painting to photography, images characteristically had been of a static nature.

With the development of color and sound cinema, that is, »the movie«, we came close to an imitation of life: people, animals, and objects can be captured or animated by camera technology with »high fidelity« to their locomotive action, their movements, conversations, and expressions. The transition from moving machine to moving image is visually evident.

BioMedien

Das Zeitalter der Medien mit lebensähnlichem Verhalten

Das Zeitalter der Medien mit lebensähnlichem Verhalten
Das Zeitalter der Medien mit lebensähnlichem Verhalten
Dauer
0:42
Kategorie
Ausstellung
Beschreibung

Wer oder was definiert, was lebendig und was intelligent ist? Können künstliche Lebensformen empathisch sein? Wie sieht das Miteinander von Menschen und künstlichen Agents aus? Welche ethischen Fragen stellen sich? Die Ausstellung »BioMedien« lädt dazu ein, mögliche Formen des Zusammenlebens zwischen organischen und künstlichen Lebensformen kennenzulernen und zu diskutieren.

Seit Jahrhunderten versucht der Mensch, Maschinen zu erschaffen, die das Leben simulieren – von der Animatronik des 16. Jahrhunderts bis hin zu präkinematischen Bewegtbild-Maschinen. Im 19. Jahrhundert brach das Zeitalter der radbasierten Bewegungsmaschinen an, zum Beispiel mit Fahrrädern, Autos und Zügen. Diese radbasierte Technologie wich im 20. Jahrhundert dem Bewegtbild, der Kinematografie, der Illusion von Bewegung. Ein Bild, das tatsächlich Bewegung imitieren konnte, war ein radikaler Schritt in Richtung der Simulation von Leben, denn bis dato waren Bilder von der Malerei bis zur Fotografie statischer Natur gewesen.

Dank der Entwicklung des Farb- und Tonfilms ist Technologie der Nachahmung des Lebens nähergekommen: Durch die hohe Genauigkeit der Wiedergabe der Kameratechnik können Expressionen, Bewegungsabläufe und Konversationen von Menschen, Tieren und Objekten eingefangen oder animiert werden. Der Übergang von der bewegten Maschine zum bewegten Bild ist damit ersichtlich.