Giga-Hertz Award: Award Ceremony
Red plaque with "Giga-Hertz-Award" in white letters
Sat, 25.11.2017 8 pm

For the tenth consecutive year, the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustic together with the SWR Experimentalstudio has awarded the Giga-Hertz Award for Electronic Music. This year's award winning artists and composers will participate in the award ceremony on Saturday, November 25, 2017. Main-award winner Laurie Anderson will be present, too, to accept the award. 

From approximately 80 international submissions, the jury, consisting of Elena Ungeheuer (Professor of Contemporary Music at the Institute of Musical Research, University of Würzburg), Björn Gottstein (musicologist and Artistic Director of the Donaueschingen Music Festival), Ludger Brümmer (Head of ZKM | Music and Acoustics Institute), Detlef Heusinger (Artistic Director of the SWR Experimantalstudio) and Peter Weibel (Executive of ZKM | Karlsruhe), nominated three outstanding pieces for this. The international Giga-Hertz Production Prizes, each awarded €4,000, focus on composers of electronic and acousmatic music and serve to initiate and promote new projects. 

Organization / Institution
ZKM | Center for Art and Media