Giga-Hertz-Preis 2021: Christina Kubisch



The Giga-Hertz Award for Electronic Music has been awarded since 2007 by ZKM | Karlsruhe and SWR Experimentalstudio. This year’s artists and composers will be honored during a two-day festival.

Together with the SWR Experimental Studio, the ZKM | Centre for Art and Media annually awards the Giga-Hertz Award for Electronic Music. The 2021 award winner is sound artist Christina Kubisch, who receives the main award of 10,000 euros for her pioneering life's work. The Giga-Hertz Production Awards go to Yvette Janine Jackson from the USA and André Damião from Brazil. Honorary mentions will be given to Maja S. K. Ratkje and Viola Yip . The award ceremony will take place on November 27  at the ZKM as part of a two-day festival with performances of the award winners' works.

The Giga-Hertz Award is dedicated to the world-famous physicist Heinrich Hertz (1857–1894). At the end of the 19th century he taught at the Karlsruhe Technical University (now the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology), and it was there that he discovered the Electromagnetic Waves. The purpose of the Award is to promote electronic music and to give incentives through new tonal and compositional possibilities.