Giga-Hertz-Preis 2022

26.11.2022 - 27.11.2022

The banner has a black background on which there are red lines and dots. In yellow font is written: Giga Hertz Award 2022 for electronic music and sound art 26.11.2022.

The Giga-Hertz Award 2022 will be presented at the ZKM | Karlsruhe. Winner of the main prize of € 10,000 is Daniel Teruggi. The new PopExperimental Advancement Award goes to the Ugandan collective Nyege Nyege.

Each year, since 2007, the ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe presents the Giga-Hertz Award for electronic music and sound art, in collaboration with the SWR Experimental Studio. Previous award winners include Pierre Boulez, Brian Eno, Laurie Anderson, and Christina Kubisch. This year, the the Argentinian composer and longtime director of the INA GRM (Groupe de recherches musicales) in Paris, Daniel Teruggi, will receive the Main Award, endowed with €10,000. The Production Awards, each endowed with €5,000, will go to the sound and multimedia artist Yu-Jung Chen from Taiwan and to Peter Gahn, Professor of Composition/New Media/Sound Studies at the
Hochschule für Musik in Nuremberg. A new award category is the PopExperimental Advancement Award of € 5,000, which will be given to the Nyege Nyege collective from Uganda. The collective promotes electronic underground music by African artists. The award ceremony will take place on Saturday, November 26, 2022 at the ZKM | Karlsruhe, and is accompanied by a comprehensive concert program on November 26 and 27, 2022.

For more information on the award winners (biographies), the jury statements and the complete Giga-Hertz Award program, please click HERE

Download press images

Please select the images you would like to download and press »next«.

All pictures may be reprinted free of charge according to General Terms and Conditions Act in connection with the exhibition or event and under specification of the corresponding credits. Trimming and other modifications of the pictures are not allowed.
First name *
Last name *
Email *