Adriana Hölszky

Feminale of Music

Première of the composition Exodus by Adriana Hölszky by the Percussion Ensemble Stuttgart at ZKM, 2016

Hölszky describes her compositions as »sound spaces«, in which expanding and shrinking spaces and shifts from one sound area to another are involved, which she compares with film editing with its sharp cuts or soft fades.

Adriana Hölszky, born on 30th June 1953 in Bucharest, Romania, is a German music teacher, composer and pianist who has lived in Germany since 1976.

In 1972 she began studying composition at Ştefan Niculescu parallel to her piano studies at the Bucharest Music Conservatory. She continued her studies in Germany, studying composition with Milko Kelemen and chamber music with Günter Louegk at the Musikhochschule in Stuttgart from 1977-1980. During her studies she performs as pianist of the Trio Lipatti, together with her twin sister, violinist Monika Hölszky-Wiedemann and cellist Hertha Rosa-Herseni. During her studies she takes part in various courses such as the Darmstadt Summer Courses for New Music or the International Mozarteum Summer Academy.

In 1980 she accepted a teaching position at the State University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart. She also received numerous scholarships and awards, including a scholarship from the Cultural Foundation of the State of Baden-Württemberg (1983) and first place in the composers' forum of the Darmstadt Summer Courses for New Music. After various composition seminars in Tokyo, Kyoto and at IRCAM Paris (1992), her increasing international popularity is demonstrated by three portrait concerts in 1993, which she gave in Athens, Thessaloniki and Boston.

From 1997 to 2000 Hölszky was professor of composition at the Academy of Music and Theatre in Rostock, since 2000 she has been professor of composition at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg and since 2002 member of the Academy of Fine Arts in Berlin.

Music piece

The Percussion Ensemble Stuttgart premiered the new composition by Adriana Hölszky »Exodus« for 12 percussionists at the ZKM on April 16, 2016 as part of »sonic screens«. »Exodus« is a composition commissioned by ZKM | Karlsruhe, financially supported by the Ernst of Siemens Music Foundation


    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020