Quantum Leaps XII
Fri, March 04, 2011 – Sat, March 05, 2011, Festival
In each of the concerts, the scholarship holders of the Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie (IEMA) present two different aspects that have been significant for the development of aesthetics in music during the 20th and 21st centuries: Commencing with György Ligeti and Tristan Murail, the concert on the 4th March is dedicated to the theme of sound research – from “unplugged” through to the generation of electronic sounds. Young composers, such as Marco Nikodijevic and Vassos Nicolaou – both present and former IEMA and IMA scholarship holders – as well as established composers, such as Gérard Buquet and Philippe Hurel will be illustrating various aspects of their own world of sounds in the particular spatial and acoustic situation of the Cube.
“Gesture – Theater – Space”, language and music through to silence, enigmatic and apparently comic: these are the catchwords of the concert to be held on the 5 March. With work by Karlheinz Stockhausen, Maurizio Kagel, Johannes Schöllhorn, Vinko Globokar and László Vidovsky, the IEMA scholarship holders perform music to be seen.


Fri, March 4, 2011,8 p.m.

Tristan Murail “Allégories” for ensemble and electronics (1990)
György Ligeti “6 Bagatellen für Bläserquintett” (1953)
Marko Nikodijevic New work for Instruments and Electronics (UA, 2011)
Gérard Buquet “L'astre échevelé” for soprano saxophone and live electronics (2009)
Vassos Nicolaou “Recent” for instruments and electronics
Philippe Hurel “À batons rompus” for saxophone and percussion (2008)

Sat, March 5, 2011, 8 p.m.

Mauricio Kagel “Match” for three actors (1966)
Johannes Schöllhorn “Der Vorhang geht auf. Das Theater stellt ein Theater vor” (1989)
Karlheinz Stockhausen “Rotary für Bläserquintett” (1997)
Vinko Globokar “Atemstudie” for Oboe solo (1971)
László Vidovszky “Schroeder Halála” for one pianist and three assistants (1975)
Organization / Institution
Die Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie (IEMA)