BS DC Import ID
BS DC Import Time
Design - Head - Color

AppArtAward 2014

Fri, July 11, 2014 8:00 pm CEST

© ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe, photo: Felix Grünschloß
Media Theater

The winners of this year’s AppArtAward will be announced as part of a public awards presentation ceremony on Friday, July 11, 2014.

The call for submissions for this year’s AppArtAward ended in May, and a noteworthy jury − consisting Peter Weibel, Christiane Riedel, David Hermanns, Martin Hubschneider, Rilly Laurence, Patrick Breitenbach, Aaron Siegel and Chiara Passa − select the winners in four categories from over 100 submissions from 22 countries.

The ZKM AppArtAward has honored the most outstanding works of art in App-format since 2011. In addition to aesthetic aspects, attention is also given to the creative integration and implementation of technological possibilities. In 2014, the categories are "Award for Artistic Innovation", "Special Award for Art & Science", "Special Award for Sound Art" and "Special Award for Crowd Art". The special awards are oriented on current technical developments.


  • DandyPunk: Transcend the Box − live projection mapping performance
  • Welcome Speech by ZKM Chairman Peter Weibel
  • Highlights of the submitted apps
  • Awarding "Price for Artistic Innovation"
  • Keynote Aaron Siegel, Head of Interaction and Online Experience at Fabrica
  • Awarding "Special Prize for Sound Art"
  • Awarding "Special Prize for Art+Science"
  • Live Coding Performance "Benoit and the Mandelbrots"
  • Awarding "Special Prize for Crowd Art"

Following the award ceremony, the audience can try the best apps and be part of an interactive light show.

Organizing Organization / Institution

ZKM | Karlsruhe




CAS Software AG, Federal Ministry of Education and Research in the context of the Science Year 2014 − The digital society, DPS Engineering and GFT Technologies AG


ZKM | Center for Art and Media

Lorenzstraße 19
76135 Karlsruhe

+49 (0) 721 - 8100 - 1200