Artificial Soundscapes... In-between...
A woman plays a wooden wind instrument.
Fri, May 24, 2019 8 pm CEST, Concert

»Artificial Soundscapes...In-between...« is an overall concept developed by Carolin Elena Fischer in which the different compositions musically intertwine and merge into a collage-like »soundscape«.

The dramaturgical meaning of each piece is also generated by the arrangement in the course of the program. Common to all works is the »natural« origin of the basic sound materials. In the solo compositions of Bozza, Denner and Huang it is the pure, »natural« instrumental sound of the various recorders. All electroacoustic works are based on sounds originating from nature. Or instrumental sounds are reproduced unadulterated in instrumental works, e.g. the organ sounds in Denner's »Kotura II«, which are heard via contact loudspeakers, or the bell sounds in van Steenhoven's »Sea Bells«.

The acoustic microcosm of nature characterizes the works of Joachim Krebs and the artist couple <SA/JO>, Sabine Schäfer / Joachim Krebs. In the mid-1990s, Joachim Krebs developed the artistic-scientific-philosophical method for fertilizing this sound material as part of his series of works »Artificial Soundscapes«. His search for artistic basic sound materials that could point beyond his own imagination led him to explore the sounds of nature. He called this procedure for the compositional handling and for making audible the sound microcosm of animal voices »EndoMikroSonoSkopie«. Further information can be found in the printed commentaries.

The concert is dedicated to Joachim Krebs. It is an accompanying event of the exhibition »Leuchtender KLANG – Klingendes LICHT. The composer and media artist Joachim Krebs (1952–2013)« of the Badische Landesbibliothek Karlsruhe (March 8 – June 8, 2019).



Joachim Krebs (1952–2013) »ARTIFICIAL SOUNDSCAPES No. 3, Ausschnitt aus Klangmilieu III (Loop)«

Karel van Steenhoven (*1958) »Sea Bells« (2019, UA)

Eugène Bozza (1905–1991) »Interlude« (1978)

Joachim Krebs »ARTIFICIAL SOUNDSCAPES No. 3« (1997)

Ling-Hsuan Huang (*1991) »The Way I Talk…« (2019, UA)

<SA/JO> (Sabine Schäfer/Joachim Krebs) »TopoSonic Spheres« (2004)

Kathrin A. Denner (*1986) »Kotura II« (2019)

Kathrin A. Denner (*1986) »engrave III« (2016)

<SA/JO> (Sabine Schäfer/Joachim Krebs) »SolarSonical Insects« (2012 / 2018)


Total duration: approx. 60 min.


The University of Music Karlsruhe

With friendly support

Cultural Office of Karlsruhe

Recorder and Live Electronics