Quantum Leaps I
Thu, September 22, 2005 – Sat, September 24, 2005, Festival
The Quantum Leaps Festival marks the start of a new form of regular cooperation with the Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie (IEMA): superb programmes confront past masters of electronic, electro-acoustic and acousmatic music with the latest developments in the digital field.

The ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics and the IEMA complement each other perfectly with their high-calibre scholarship programmes for composers, instrumentalists and sound engineers. Synergies will be produced and creative potential released. Instrumental limitations will be overcome, instrumental conditions incorporated in a dialogue with electronic resources and compositions created without any natural acoustic instrument whatsoever. The highly motivated IEMA scholars, selected from all over the country by a strict jury, have in some cases already completed their university education and are sure to provide some very dedicated interpretations. One sound engineer and one composer from among the IEMA scholars will produce and interpret new works at the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics, while ZKM scholars will have an opportunity to present their projects together with the IEMA. The IEMA is active in Austria, Greece and several countries in Asia, including Korea and Japan.


September 22–24, 2005

IEMA concerts at the ZKM | Karlsruhe

September 22, 2005


Nicolaus A. Huber
»Töne suchen einen Autor« (1988) (7’)

Claude Vivier
»Paramirabo« (1978) (18’)

Tristan Murail
»Treize Couleurs du soleil couchant« (1978) (13’)

Wolfgang Rihm
»Chiffre IV« (1984) (9’)

John Cage
»Radio Music« (6’)

Steve Reich
»Different Trains« (1988) (27’) (with equipment)

September 23 , 2005

»Solo Works«

Shintaro Imai
»La Lutte Bleue« (2000)
for Cello and Electronics (10’)

Karoline Schulz
»Verkleidungen« (2004)
for Flute and Live Electronics (14’)

Steve Reich
»New York Counterpoint« (1985)
for Soprano Saxophone and Tape (11’) Steve Reich: Violin Phase for Violin and Tape (1967) (15’)

Luciano Berio
»Sequenza V« (1966) for Trombone (6’)

Karlheinz Stockhausen
»SOLO« (1966/94)
for Flute and Feedback (18’)

September 24, 2005

Round table on electronic music with artists, teachers and media representatives
Karlheinz Stockhausen: »MANTRA«

Introduction with soloists by Rudolf Frisius

Karlheinz Stockhausen concert
»MANTRA« (1970) for two pianos and electronics (65’)

The IEMA scholars from North Rhine-Westphalia are sponsored by the North Rhine-Westphalia Art Foundation The IEMA is sponsored by the Cultural Foundation of the Federal Government
Organization / Institution
Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie (IEMA)