A woman dressed in red sitting on the floor. In her hands she holds a flute.
Wed, June 25, 2014 8 pm CEST, Concert

The composition ROTATIONS forms the central piece of the concert for recorder and electronics, by Dutch composer Jan Rokus van Roosendael. What is distinctive about this piece is that its twelve music stands are arranged around the players. With this arrangement, the performer continually alters his position, whereby the music is extended theatrically.
The single elements in ROTATIONS are intimately intertwined, producing relations and contrasts with one another. These links within the composition were decisive for the conception of the concert program as a whole.

In six of a total of nine works, Carolin Hettler presents various recorders and playing techniques and are here combined with live electronics. Within the program, three additional electroacoustic pieces by Vito Žuraj serve as links: for this three-part cycle Žuraj uses eleven short percussive effects as sound basis. He alienates this sound material by way of varying playback speeds, altered reverberations and spatial distributions.

The special feature in »Außer Atem [Out of Breath]« by Moritz Eggert lies in the use of two recorders played simultaneously over long passages. A third level occasionally appears as well: players singing into the instrument. Similarly, in Michele Biasutti and Peter Hannan’s pieces experiments are carried out with the possibilities of recorders in an apparently polyphonic play. In his composition »Actor with the Monkey« Isang Yun focusses on an entirely different theme, as inspired by the performance of monkey dressage


  • Isang Yun: »The Actor with the Monkey« for recorder from »Chinese Pictures« (1993)
  • Emanuele Casale: »Studio 2a« for bass recorder and electronics (2000)
  • Vito Žuraj: »iSlider« for eight-channel electronics (2007)
  • Moritz Eggert: »Außer Atem« for three recorders (one player) (1995)
  • Vito Žuraj: »Odtrg« for eight-channel electronics (2008)
  • Jan Rokus van Roosendael: »ROTATIONS« for treble recorder (1988)
  • Vito Žuraj: »Fluctus« for eight-channel electronics (2009)
  • Michele Biasutti: »RICERCARE« for recorder and live electronics (2000)
  • Peter Hannan: »RSRCH 12/84 „DREAM“« for tenor recorder (1984)

Carolin Hettler
completed her studies in the recorder in Karlsruhe and Zurich, graduating with honors in 2013. She is presently studying for her Masters in contemporary music at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe. She received the “Baden-Württemberg-Stipendium” in 2011, and has been scholarship holder of the “Yehudi-Menuhin Live Music Now Oberrhein e.V.”, since 2012. The critical examination of modern recorder models have a defining influence on her work as does the close collaboration with contemporary composers, as well as the realization of premier performances. 

Vito Žuraj
studied composition in Ljubljana, Dresden, and with Wolfgang Rihm at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe, where he also completed a Masters of Arts in the field of music informatics. Among his fields of activity are collaborations with the New York Philharmonic, RSO Stuttgart, hr-Sinfonieorchester, Ensemble Modern, Klangforum Wien, Experimentalstudio des SWR and the RIAS Chamber Choir. His works have been performed, among others, at various Salzburg Festivals, Ultraschall Berlin, and Takefu Festival Japan. He has received numerous prizes for composition and is currently scholarship holder of the Deutsche Akademie Villa Massimo in Rome.

Project team

Konzert mit Carolin Hettler (Blockflöte) und Kompositionen von Vito Zuraj, Moritz Eggert, Peter Hannan u.a.