Amram-Ensemble | THREE LOST LOVES
David Amram on the piano
and other pieces
Mon, October 03, 2016 8 pm CEST, Concert

David Amram's THREE LOST LOVES is based on stories by three authors: Willa Cather, Zora Neale Hurston and Jack Kerouac. The work was commissioned for the AMRAM ENSEMBLE (Elmira Darvarova, violin, Ken Radnofsky, saxophone and Thomas Weaver, piano) by the New York Chamber Music Festival, which has named David Amram their Composer-In-Residence, coinciding with the 50th anniversary of Leonard Bernstein selecting Amram to be the first ever Composer-In-Residence of the New York Philharmonic. 


Sergei Prokofiev


March from "The Love for Three Oranges" for violin & piano (2 min.)

David Amram 

Prologue & Scherzo for saxophone  (7 min.)

Johannes Brahms

Scherzo for violin & piano  (5 min.)


Maurice Ravel

Sonatine for saxophone & piano, arr. Walter  (11 min.)

David Amram

Elegy for violin & piano (European Premiere)  (14 min.)

George Gershwin

Three Preludes, arr. for saxophone & piano (8 min.)

David Amram

Three Lost Loves for violin, saxophone and piano (World Premiere)  (25 min)



Organization / Institution
ZKM | Karlsruhe