BS DC Import ID
BS DC Import Time
Design - Head - Color

aGLOBE > Natur Morte

A Concert by Ensemble Experimental

Fri, November 25, 2022 8:00 pm – 10:00 pm CET

© Anja Limbrunner:
Media Theater

Two fixed points determine this concert of the Ensemble Experimental under the direction of Detlef Heusinger: nature and technology. The event takes place within the context of the Giga-Hertz Award 2022.

An idyllic-looking video of a forest by Uli Aumüller sets this pristine landscape as the starting point for the course of the evening. As a direct contrast, the Ensemble Experimental presents Luigi Nono's work »La fabbrica illuminata«, which deals with the subjugation of humanity and nature by technology.

This process of increasing alienation is also the theme of Brice Pauset's latest work »Après une lecture de Marx (I. Accumulation).« In his early writings, Karl Marx abolished the opposition of 'nature' and 'technology' in favor of a utopian idyll: Instead of carrying out alienated labor, liberated humankind should be able to work every day as a hunter, gatherer, and critic, all at the same time.

Three other works also seek to overcome opposites: In Huihui Cheng's »The Tides Soul«, the performing cellist sings as though she were standing in the forest, freed from all constraints. Anthony Tan's premiere »Pose VII« has the flutist chasing after electronics with virtuosity. And Ying Wang's »Black Hole, Big Bang,« visually underscored by works of the collective Music&Arts ReSound (M.A.R.S Festival, Los Angeles), reflects the finiteness and transience of all life.

Import ID
Admin Title
D7 Paragraph: r17_text / GPC_ID: 121852
flex-row-9-3 reverse


Brice Pauset »Après une lecture de Marx (I. Accumulation),« (2018–22), for flutes, clarinets, contrabass tuba, percussion, piano, violin, viola, violoncello, double bass, and electronics, 22' (world premiere)

Anthony Tan »Pose VII: that which like a thread runs through«, (2021), for flute & electronics, 12’ (World Premiere)

Ying Wang »Black Hole, Big Bang!,« (2018), for soprano, flute, clarinet, trombone, keyboards, cello, tape, and visual arts, 14'


Luigi Nono »La fabbrica illuminata,« (1964), for soprano and tape, 15'

Huihui Cheng »The Tides Soul,« (2021), for a singing cellist and electronics, 11'

Detlef Heusinger »Abzweige,« (2013–14), for flute, oboe, bassoon, percussion, piano, 2 violins, viola, violoncello, double bass, and tape, 14'

Import ID
Admin Title
D7 Paragraph: r17_text / GPC_ID: 121853
flex-row-9-3 reverse

Musicians (Ensemble Experimental)

Marysol Schalit (soprano)
Maruta Staravoitava (flute)
Alexander Ott (oboe)
Andrea Nagy (clarinet)
Hanno Dönneweg (bassoon)
Andrew Digby (trombone)
Pascal Pons (percussion)
Rei Nakamura (piano and synthesizer)
Konrad Elias-Trostmann (violin)
Adam Woodward (violin)
Sophie Wahlmüller (viola)
Esther Saladin (cello)
Rebecca Lawrence, EMA (double bass)

Import ID
Admin Title
D7 Paragraph: r17_text / GPC_ID: 121854
flex-row-9-3 reverse

Ensemble Experimental

Founded in 2011 in conjunction with the matrix project, Ensemble Experimental (ENEX) was created as a soloists' ensemble for music with live electronics and is associated with the SWR Experimentalstudio in Freiburg i. Br. The Ensemble wishes to do justice to the special performance demands of this genre through studies and intensive rehearsals in order to prepare concerts and recordings in an exemplary fashion.

Some of its members have worked for the SWR Experimentalstudio for a number of years, in some cases taking part in the creation of new works in the studio. Alongside regular performances with Matrix and at the »Jetzt Musik« concerts (former: »ars nova«) of the SWR and the ZKM, they make and have made guest appearances at festivals in Austria, Slovenia, Norway, the Netherlands, Brasil, Poland and Switzerland. The artistic director and principal conductor is Detlef Heusinger.


ZKM | Center for Art and Media

Lorenzstraße 19
76135 Karlsruhe

+49 (0) 721 - 8100 - 1200