Jennifer Walshe

Feminale of Music

Portrait of the musician Jennifer Walshe

Jennifer Walshe was born on June 1, 1974 in Dublin, Ireland. She has lived and worked in London for many years. She studied composition with John Maxwell Geddes at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, with Kevin Volans in Dublin and completed her studies at Northwestern University, Chicago, in June 2002 with a doctorate in composition under Amnon Wolman and Michael Pisaro.

Walshe has received prizes and grants from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, New York, the Berlin Artists' Program of the DAAD, the Kranichsteiner Music Prize at the International Summer Courses for New Music in Darmstadt and the Akademie Schloss Solitude Stuttgart, among others. In addition to her work as a composer, she also appears as a performer, visual artist and vocalist, specializing in advanced vocal techniques. 

For her »Grúpat« project, which she has been expanding since 2007, she developed a variety of alter egos for which she created compositions, installations, graphic scores, films, photographs, sculptures and costumes. Works by the various members of Grúpat have been performed and exhibited worldwide. For another project, »Historical Documents of the Irish Avant-Garde« she created a fictional history of the musical avant-garde in Ireland spanning 187 years. This can be found at the website of the Aisteach Foundation, another fictional organisation which sees itself as »The Avant-Garde Archive of Ireland«. Her more recent works include the critically acclaimed opera »TIME TIME TIME«, written in collaboration with the philosopher Timothy Morton, and the orchestral work »THE SITE OF AN INVESTIGATION« for Walshe's voice and orchestra. 

The works of Jennifer Walshe have been released on various labels, including Mere Records, Interval Recordings, Farpoint Recordings and Migro. 

Music pieces

The Site of an Investigation (2019) with Jennifer Walshe (voice) and the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Jean Deroyer


SELF-CARE (2017) for accordion, tape recorder and film (with sound), commissioned and interpreted by Andreas Borregaard, documentation of the premiere at the Borealis Festival in Bergen, Norway, realized with funds from the Arts Council of Ireland

Hildegard von Hildegard von Bingen: In Principio Omnes, from Ordo Virtutum

In: A Late Anthology of Early Music Vol. 1: Ancient to Rena Bingen: In Principio Omnes, from Ordo Virtutum. A Late Anthology of Early Music Vol. 1: Ancient to Renaissance (2020) 3’27’’


    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020