Jennifer Walshe

Feminale of Music

Portrait of the musician Jennifer Walshe

Jennifer Walshe was born on June 1, 1974 in Dublin, Ireland. She has lived and worked in London for many years. She studied composition with John Maxwell Geddes at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, with Kevin Volans in Dublin and completed her studies at Northwestern University, Chicago, in June 2002 with a doctorate in composition under Amnon Wolman and Michael Pisaro.

Walshe has received prizes and grants from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, New York, the Berlin Artists' Program of the DAAD, the Kranichsteiner Music Prize at the International Summer Courses for New Music in Darmstadt and the Akademie Schloss Solitude Stuttgart, among others. In addition to her work as a composer, she also appears as a performer, visual artist and vocalist, specializing in advanced vocal techniques. 

For her »Grúpat« project, which she has been expanding since 2007, she developed a variety of alter egos for which she created compositions, installations, graphic scores, films, photographs, sculptures and costumes. Works by the various members of Grúpat have been performed and exhibited worldwide. For another project, »Historical Documents of the Irish Avant-Garde« she created a fictional history of the musical avant-garde in Ireland spanning 187 years. This can be found at the website of the Aisteach Foundation, another fictional organisation which sees itself as »The Avant-Garde Archive of Ireland«. Her more recent works include the critically acclaimed opera »TIME TIME TIME«, written in collaboration with the philosopher Timothy Morton, and the orchestral work »THE SITE OF AN INVESTIGATION« for Walshe's voice and orchestra. 

The works of Jennifer Walshe have been released on various labels, including Mere Records, Interval Recordings, Farpoint Recordings and Migro. 

Music pieces

The Site of an Investigation (2019) with Jennifer Walshe (voice) and the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Jean Deroyer
 

 

SELF-CARE (2017) for accordion, tape recorder and film (with sound), commissioned and interpreted by Andreas Borregaard, documentation of the premiere at the Borealis Festival in Bergen, Norway, realized with funds from the Arts Council of Ireland

Hildegard von Hildegard von Bingen: In Principio Omnes, from Ordo Virtutum

In: A Late Anthology of Early Music Vol. 1: Ancient to Rena Bingen: In Principio Omnes, from Ordo Virtutum. A Late Anthology of Early Music Vol. 1: Ancient to Renaissance (2020) 3’27’’

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020
Online

Jennifer Walshe

Feminale der Musik

Portrait der Musikerin Jennifer Walshe

Jennifer Walshe ist am 1. Juni 1974 in Dublin, Irland geboren. Sie lebt und arbeitet seit vielen Jahren in London. Studiert hat die Komposition bei John Maxwell Geddes an der Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, bei Kevin Volans in Dublin und schloss ihr Studium an der Northwestern University, Chicago, im Juni 2002 mit einem Doktortitel in Komposition bei Amnon Wolman und Michael Pisaro ab.

Walshe erhielt u.a. Preise und Stipenden von der Foundation for Contemporary Arts, New York, dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, den Kranichsteiner Musikpreis bei den Internationalen Ferienkurse für Neue Musik in Darmstadt und der Akademie Schloss Solitude Stuttgart. Sie tritt neben ihrer Arbeit als Komponistin auch als Performerin, bildende Künstlerin und Vokalistin auf und hat sich hier auf erweiterte Stimmtechniken spezialisiert. 

Für ihr »Grúpat« Projekt, das sie seit 2007 erweitert, entwickelte sie eine Vielzahl an Alter Egos für die sie Kompositionen, Installationen, graphische Partituren, Filme, Photographien, Skulpturen und Kostüme erschuf. Werke der verschiedenen Mitglieder von Grúpat wurden weltweit aufgeführt und ausgestellt. Für ein weiteres Projekt »Historical Documents of the Irish Avant-Garde« kreierte sie eine fiktive Geschichte der musikalischen Avantgarde in Irland, welche sich über 187 Jahre erstreckt. Zu finden ist diese auf www.aisteach.org, der Website der Aisteach Foundation, einer ebenfalls fiktiven Organisation, die sich als »The Avant-Garde Archive of Ireland« versteht. Zu ihren jüngeren Werken gehört die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Philosophen Timothy Morton entstandene und von KritikerInnen gefeierte Oper »TIME TIME TIME« sowie das Orchesterwerk »THE SITE OF AN INVESTIGATION« für Walshes Stimme und Orchester. 

Die Werke Jennifer Walshes sind auf verschiedenen Labels veröffentlicht worden, darunter Mere Records, Interval Recordings, Farpoint Recordings und Migro. 

Musikstücke

The Site of an Investigation (2019) mit Jennifer Walshe (Stimme) und dem RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, dirigiert von Jean Deroyer

SELF-CARE (2017) für Akkordeon, Tape-Recorder und Film (mit Klang), beauftragt und interpretiert von Andreas Borregaard, Dokumentation der Premiere im Rahmen des Borealis Festival in Bergen, Norwegen, realisiert mit Mitteln des Arts Council of Ireland

Hildegard von Hildegard von Bingen: In Principio Omnes, from Ordo Virtutum

In: A Late Anthology of Early Music Vol. 1: Ancient to Rena Bingen: In Principio Omnes, from Ordo Virtutum. A Late Anthology of Early Music Vol. 1: Ancient to Renaissance (2020) 3’27’’

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival