Giga-Hertz-Award 2007
 Poster Giga-Hertz Award 2007 at ZKM | Karlsruhe
Fri, November 23, 2007 – Sun, November 25, 2007, Festival

Award ceremony, festival with concerts and symposium on the occasion of awarding the first Giga-Hertz-Award for electronic music under the patronage of Günther H. Oettinger, Minister President of Baden-Württemberg.

ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics, together with Freiburg’s EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO for a coustic a rt e.V. present the first Giga-Hertz-Award for electronic music. This award for electronic and acousmatic compositions is unique in Germany and underlines the importance of electronic music, especially in Baden-Wuerttemberg: the award is supported by the two most important German studios for electronic music. It is funded by the city of Karlsruhe and the Federal State of Baden-Wuerttemberg.
In concerts, the works of the five prize recipients will be presented, along with further significant contemporary compositions for electronics. The symposium “c³ubic: sound in space+” will provide a context. Scientists, scholars, and composers will join here to discuss technical novelties and aesthetic dimensions of the electronic projection of sound in space.

The Giga-Hertz-Award is in memory of the world-famous physicist Heinrich Hertz (1857–1894), who taught at the Karlsruhe technical university at the end of the nineteenth century; it was there that he discovered electromagnetic waves.

The Giga-Hertz-Award Winners 2007

In 2007, the international jury that selected the winners of the Giga-Hertz-Award consisted of Pierre Boulez, Ludger Bruemmer, Detlef Heusinger, Armin Koehler, Wolfgang Rihm, Horacio Vaggione, and Peter Weibel. The Grand Prize of € 15,000 goes to the British composer Jonathan Harvey for his extensive oeuvre at the interface between electronic and instrumental music. The four Special Prizes, each worth € 8,000, go to the French composer Mark Andre, Daniel Mayer from Austria, Flo Menezes from Brazil, and Vassos Nicolaou from Cyprus, who lives in Cologne.

The patron of the Giga-Hertz-Award is the Minister-President of Baden-Wuerttemberg Guenther H. Oettinger.


 Poster Giga-Hertz Award 2007 at ZKM | Karlsruhe

Main Award Winner 2007 | Jonathan Harvey (England)

The main prize is awarded to Jonathan Harvey in recognition of his life's work at the interface between instrumental and electronic music. Harvey is one of the most important composers of our time. Trained by Erwin Stein in the tradition of Schönberg's twelve-tone technique, his work combines serial techniques with an interest in spectral analysis and timeless spiritual expression. Especially the late works deal with the interaction and interchangeability of electronic and traditional live sounds.

Jonathan Harvey

black-and-white Portrait of Jonathan Harvey

Production Prize Winners 2007

for »…hoc…« (2005-06), for violoncello and live electronics

for »Rondo for Buffer Granulator«, (2005-07), for tape

for »La Novità del Suono« (2006), for chamber orchestra (13 musicians and conductor) and live electronics

for »Orbit« (2004-05), for midi piano and live electronics

Festival Program


Fri, November 23, 2007

Prize Winner Concert I
ZKM_Cube, 8 p.m., tickets € 10/7

Vassos Nicolaou “Orbit” (2004-05) for midi-piano and live electronics, 9’38’’
Daniel Mayer “Rondo for buffer granulator” (2005-07) for tape, 8’
Daniel Mayer “Lokale Orbits / Duo T1” (2007) for quadraphonic tape
Flo Menezes “Profils écartelés” (1988) for piano and quadrophonic tape, 15’
Performed by Dimitri Vassilakis (piano).

Sat–Sun, November 24.–25, 2007

Symposium „c3ubic: Sound in Space+“
ZKM_Cube and ZKM_Lecture Hall, 11 a.m.–6 p.m., free admission

Lectures and discussion with composers, scientists, and scholars, including Ludger Bruemmer (ZKM Karlsruhe), Rudolf Frisius (Karlsruhe), Jonty Harrison/Scott Wilson (University of Birmingham), Folkmar Hein (Technische Universitaet Berlin), Detlef Heusinger (Experimentalstudio for acoustic art Freiburg), Martin Neukom (ICST Zurich), Kees Tazelaar (Institute of Sonology, The Hague), Daniel Teruggi (INA/GRM Paris), Thomas A. Troge (Hochschule fuer Musik Karlsruhe), and Olivier Warusfel (IRCAM Paris).

Sat, November 24, 2007

Award Ceremony of the first Giga-Hertz-Award for electronic music
ZKM_Media Theater, 8 p.m., admission free
Prizewinners 2007: Jonathan Harvey (Grand Prize), Mark Andre, Vassos Nicolaou, Daniel Mayer, and Flo Menezes (Special Prizes)

Concert to follow
Prize Winner Concert II
Chaya Czernowin “Shu Hai Mitamen Behatalat Kidon” (1997) for female voice, nine-track tape background, and live electronics
Luigi Nono “Omaggio à Gyoergy Kurtág” (1983) for alto, flute, clarinet, bass tuba, and live electronics
Jonathan Harvey “Ricercare una melodia” (1984), version for violoncello and live electronics
Mark Andre “AB II” (1997) for contrabass clarinet, violoncello, cymbalon, percussion, piano and live electronics
Performed by Noa Frenkel (alto) and the Ensemble SurPlus under the direction of James Avery; Joachim Haas and Michael Acker (s ound direction); Sven Kestel (s ound design). In collaboration with EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO for acoustic art Freiburg.

Sun, November 25, 2007

Sound Space with Ambisonic Technology
Concert for the symposium, ZKM_Cube, 8 p.m., admission € 10/7
Thomas Peter/André Meier “Interludium”
José Lopez Montes “Gest…” from Julias Dyptichon (2004) for tape and video, 6’30’’
Martin Neukom “Studie 18.1” (2004) for tape, 3’
Martin Neukom “Studie 18.9” (2005) for tape, 3’
Juerg Lindenberg “Herbsthauch” (2004) for tape, 6’
Johannes Schuett “Magic Mirror II” (1999) for bass clarinet and tape, 12’
José Lopez Montes “Autoparaphrasis nach Átanos” from Julias Dyptichon (2005) for tape and video, 7’
Philippe Kocher “Solo”for bass clarinet and live electronics, 9’
Thomas Peter/André Meier “Interludium”
Performed by Lukas Vogelsang (bass clarinet), Thomas Peter (electronics), André Meier (trumpet), Peter Faerber (s ound direction).
In collaboration with the Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology of the Zurich University of the Arts.


Giga-Hertz Award 2007


Ludger Brümmer (Composer, Head of ZKM | Hertz-Lab)
Pierre Boulez (Composer, former director of IRCAM Paris)
Peter Weibel (Artistic Director of ZKM | Karlsruhe)
Detlef Heusinger (Artistic Director of Experimentalstudio for acoustic art)
Armin Köhler (Managing Editor for New Music at SWR and Artistic Director of Donaueschinger Musiktage)
Wolfgang Rihm (Composer and Musicologist)
Horacio Vaggione (Composer)

Organization / Institution

Freiburger EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO für akustische Kunst, Institute for Computer Music and Sound Technology der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste


Stadt Karlsruhe ; Bundesland Baden-Württemberg