Giga-Hertz Award 2008
Web banner Giga-Hertz Award 2008 at ZKM | Karlsruhe
Fri, November 28, 2008 – Sat, November 29, 2008, Festival

For the second time in succession, the ZKM | Center for Art and Media together with the EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of SWR will be awarding the Giga-Hertz Award for Electronic Music.

At € 15.000, and with four additional awards for production, each at € 8.000, the Giga-Hertz-Award is worldwide the most endowed prize for electronic music for the life work of a composer. The jury in 2008 was constituted of the artistic directors of the studios participating Ludger Brümmer (ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics), Detlef Heusinger (Experimentalstudio of SWR), also François Bayle (pioneer of electro-acoustic and acousmatic music, and developer of the acusmonium), Jonathan Harvey (composer and winner of the first Giga-Hertz-Mainprize in 2007 as acknowledgement for his life’s work), Armin Köhler (editorial director for New Music at SWR and responsible for the Donaueschinger Festival) as well as Peter Weibel (CEO of the ZKM | Karlsruhe, former director of Ars Electronica in Linz).

Patron of the Giga-Hertz-Award 2008 is Günther H. Oettinger (Prime Minister of the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg).

Poster Giga-Hertz Award 2008 at ZKM | Karlsruhe

Main Award Winner 2008 | Trevor Wishart (England)

Trevor Wishart was awarded the Grand Price because of his achievements in the compositional use of granular synthesis and phase recoder technology. Especially his unique approach implementing a low-tech compositional environment leading to the composers desktop project gave an important impulse to the community of composers.

Trevor Wishart

Homestudio Portrait Trevor Wishart

Festival Program

Fri, November 28, 2008

Prize Winner Concert I
in ZKM_Medientheater at 8 p.m. admission € 9/6

Pierre Boulez
"Dialogue de l’ombre double" (1982-85)
for Clarinet and Live-Electronic

João Pedro Paiva de Oliveira
"Beyond" (2006)
for Clarinet, Cello, Piano und Electronic-Sounds
Special Award Winner 2008

Dai Fujikura
"moromoro" (2003)
for Piano and Electronic (with Video)
Special Award Winner 2008

Luigi Nono
"A Pierre. Dell’azzurro silenzio, inquietum" (1985)
for Flute, Clarinet und Live-Electronics

Karlheinz Stockhausen
"Prozession" (1967)
for Viola, Piano, Percussion, Electronium, Mikrophonist and Live-Electronics


with ensemble recherche:
Barbara Maurer, Viola
Åsa Åkerberg, Violoncello
Martin Fahlenbock, Flute
Jaime González, Mikrophonist
Shizuyo Oka, Clarinet
Christian Dierstein, Percussion
Jean-Pierre Collot (Oliveira, Stockhausen)
Klaus Steffes-Holländer (Fujikura, Stockhausen)

Joachim Haas, Sound Design
Gregorio Karman, Sound Design
Annesley Black, Sound Design Assistent


Sat, November 29, 2008

Award Ceremony Giga-Hertz-Prize 2008
in ZKM_Foyer at 7 p.m., admission free

Greeting by
Peter Weibel
(ZKM | Center for Art and Media)
Heinz Fenrich (Mayor of Karlsruhe)
Klaus Tappeser (Assistant Secretary of State)

Giving Away of Awards by
François Bayle (former Head of the GRM, Paris)
Dorothea Enderle (SWR)
Bernhard Hermann (SWR)
Gerhard R. Koch (FAZ)
Erwin Vetter (Minister retired)

Moderation: Peter Weibel
(ZKM | Center for Art and Media)

Sat, November 29

Prize Winner Concert II
2008 im ZKM_Kubus
at 8.30 p.m., admission free

Natasha Barrett
"Kongsberg Silver Mines" (Concert Version) (2008)
Acousmatic Piece
Special Award Winner 2008
Debut Performance of the "Concert Version"

Åke Parmerud
"La Vie Méchanique" (2004)
Acousmatic Piece
Special Award Winner 2008

Vassos Nicolaou
"Recent" (2008)
for Ensemble and Live-Electronics
Ensemble Modern
Special Award Winner 2007
Debut Performance

Daniel Mayer
"Lokale Orbits / Solo 3" (2008)
for Flute and Multichannel-Tape
Martina Roth (Flute), Ensemble SurPlus
Special Award Winner 2007
Debut Performance

Trevor Wishart
"Imago" (2002)
Acousmatic Piece
Main Award Winner 2008


Giga-Hertz Award 2008

Ensemble Modern

Johannes Schwarz, Bassoon
Valentín Garvie, Trumpet
Rainer Römer, Percussion
Rafal Zambrzycki-Payne, Violin

Sebastian Schottke

Ludger Brümmer (Composer, Head of ZKM | Hertz-Lab)
Detlef Heusinger (Artistic Director of SWR Experimentalstudio)
François Bayle (Pioneer of electroacoustic and acousmatic music, developer of the Acousmonium)
Jonathan Harvey (Composer, Giga-Hertz Lifetime Award Winner 2007) 
Armin Köhler (Managing Editor for New Music at SWR, Artistic Director of the Donaueschinger Musiktage)
Peter Weibel (Artistic Director of ZKM | Karlsruhe, former Director of Ars Electronica Linz)

Organization / Institution

Experimentalstudio des SWR