The IEMA-Ensemble infront of a harbor scenery with containers and a crane
Current interpretations of contemporary music by the International Ensemble Modern Academy
Sat, March 04, 2017 – Sun, March 05, 2017, Festival

As part of the festival, the scholarship students of the International Ensemble Modern Academy (IEMA) will be presenting their latest pieces, world premieres by young, up-and-coming composers and style-defining compositions of contemporary music. On the opening day visitors can expect the world premiere of pieces by Yukiko Watanabe und Maurilio Cacciatore and the performance of existing pieces from the history of contemporary music, with composers such as Luciano Berio, David Fennessy und Georg Friedrich Haas. On the second concert evening compositions by Luke Bedford, Luciano Berio, Minas Borboudakis, Brett Dean and Martin Matalon will be interpreted.


Sat, March 4, 8 pm
David Fennessygut, hair, skin, air (2007)
Luciano BerioDifférences for 5 Instruments und tape (1959)
Yukiko WatanabeUnter dem Boden (2017) (première)
Maurilio CacciatoreSo loud (2014/17) (première)
Georg Friedrich Haastria ex uno – Sextet after Josquin Desprez (2001)
So, 05.03.2017, 20:00 Uhr
Luke BedfordChiaroscuro (2002/05)
Luciano BerioNaturale – Über sizilianische Melodien
for Viola, Percussion and tape (sicilian folk singer) (1985)
Brett DeanSextet – Old Kings in Exile (2010)
Martin MatalonFormas de arena (2001)
Minas BorboudakisPhotonic constructions I – for Ensemble (2006)


International Ensemble Modern Academy

With the young IEMA, the Frankfurter Ensemble Modern, one of the world’s best ensembles for contemporary music, offers the chance for musicians and composers to gain important experience for their future careers under the instruction of professionals. The IEMA will be a guest at the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustic (IMA) for the 22nd time. With this long-term cooperation, the ZKM | IMA meets its responsibility for the promotion and presentation of the next generation of musical talent and offers space to develop the music of tomorrow.


Kim Hyun-Jung (Klarinette), Mathias Lachenmayr (Schlagzeug), Takuya Otaki (Klavier), Hannah Walter (Violine), Benoit Morel (Viola), Bernhard Rath (Cello), Alexander Kolb (Klangregie), Yalda Zamani (Dirigentin), Yukiko Watanabe (Komponistin)

Delphine Roche (Flöte), Jonathan Weiss (Flöte), Moritz Thiele (Basssaxophon), Enea Cavallo (Harfe)