Dora Pejačević

Feminale of Music

You can see the drawing of a young woman.

Dora Pejačević was the first woman in Croatia to compose orchestral pieces and is considered a pioneer of the fin de siècle in her native country. She is one of the important female composers of the beginning 20th century.

Pejačevic is born on September 10, 1885 in Budapest, Austria-Hungary. She spent her youth at her parents' castle Našice in Croatia. Through private lessons at the castle she receives a comprehensive education. In addition to her mother tongue, she is fluent in five other languages, studies musicological, philosophical and political texts and reads the classics of world literature, typically in the original language.


Dora's Mother is a pianist and singer and also composes. The numerous house concerts in the Našice castle were important events in Croatian society at that time. Dora and her siblings also perform here. Already at the age of twelve Dora composes the piece »Berceuse« for piano. Later she continued her studies as a composer, mainly autodidactically; she went to Zagreb, Munich and Dresden for private studies.
Dora is quite successful during her lifetime. Her works are performed, for example, parts of her symphony op. 41 are premiered at a concert in the »Großer Musikvereins-Saal« in Vienna. The name »D. Pejačević« is printed in the programme booklet, and the newspaper critic describes his surprise when a woman appears on stage as the composer during the final applause – in addition, he praises the work, which is later performed in its entirety in Dresden. No less a person than the conductor Arthur Nikisch is interested in the symphony and would like to perform it. Unfortunately he dies before he can realize his plan.


The complete works include songs, piano pieces, chamber music and orchestral works. In terms of music history, the main focus is on late romanticism, enriched by impressionistic harmonies and occasional echoes of Slavic folkloric melody. Soon after Pejačevic death, her work was forgotten and rediscovered in the 1980s, spurred on by the research of the Croatian musicologist Koraljka Kos.

Music pieces

Overture for large orchestra in D minor, Op. 49 published by TheJapanSinfonia: Hisayoshi Inoue conducts The Japan Sinfonia, recorded live at the Suginami Koukaido Hall, Tokyo on 28.09.2015.

Impromptu for piano solo, Op. 9a published by Art Of Sound And Vision and played by Roland Grlica (piano), recorded at the Croatian Music Institute in Zagreb on 01.06.2018. 

Sonata for violin and piano, Op.26: 2nd movement, Andante con moto published and played by DUO SCHMID – CHERNICHKA: Heidi Schmid (violin) and Tatiana Chernichka (piano), live recording.

Musica Femina International (EU Project 2018–2020): Video Dora PEJAČEVIĆ (1885–1923) (10 min.)

The video, produced by the cellist and husband of the pianist, Tobias Stosiek, about Dora Pejačević was created for the exhibition MusicaFemina – from shadow to light, which in 2018 at the plant orangerie Schönbrunn became the starting point of the Creative Europe project MusicaFemina – women made music. Natasa Veljkovic teaches at the mdw – University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna. She has recorded the composer's complete works for solo piano with cpo.

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020
Online

Dora Pejačević

Feminale der Musik

Zu sehen ist die Zeichnung einer jungen Frau.

Dora Pejačević war die erste Frau in Kroatien, die Orchesterwerke komponierte und gilt als Vorreiterin des Fin de siècle in ihrer Heimat. Sie ist eine der wichtigen Komponistinnen des beginnenden 20. Jahrhunderts.

Pejačević wird am 10. September 1885 in Budapest, Österreich-Ungarn geboren. Ihre Jugend verbringt sie auf dem elterlichen Schloss Našice in Kroatien. Durch Privatunterricht am Schloss erhält sie eine umfassende Bildung. Sie beherrscht neben ihrer Muttersprache fünf weitere Sprachen fließend, studiert musikwissenschaftliche, philosophische und politische Texte und liest die Klassiker der Weltliteratur typischerweise in der Originalsprache.

Dora Pejačevićs Mutter ist Pianistin und Sängerin und komponiert ebenfalls. Die zahlreichen Hauskonzerte im Schloss Našice sind damals wichtige Ereignisse der kroatischen Gesellschaft. Auch Dora und ihre Geschwister treten hier auf. Bereits als Zwölfjährige komponiert Dora das Stück »Berceuse« für Klavier. Später bildet sie sich als Komponistin vornehmlich autodidaktisch weiter; zu einem Privat-Studium begibt sie sich nach Zagreb, München und Dresden.

Dora Pejačević ist zu ihren Lebzeiten durchaus erfolgreich. Ihre Werke werden aufgeführt, so findet zum Beispiel die Uraufführung von Teilen ihrer Sinfonie op. 41 bei einem Konzert im Großen Musikvereins-Saal in Wien statt. Im Programmheft wird der Name »D. Pejačević« gedruckt, und der Zeitungskritiker beschreibt seine Überraschung, als beim Schlussapplaus eine Frau als Komponistin auf der Bühne erscheint -- darüberhinaus äussert er sich sehr lobend über das Werk, das später in Dresden komplett gespielt wird. Kein Geringerer als der Dirigent Arthur Nikisch interessiert sich für die Sinfonie und möchte sie aufführen. Leider stirbt er, bevor er seinen Plan umsetzen kann.

Das Gesamtwerk Pejačevićs umfasst Lieder, Klavierstücke, Kammermusik und Orchesterwerke. Musikgeschichtlich wird es schwerpunktmäßig der Spätromantik zugeordnet, bereichert durch impressionistische Harmonik und gelegentliche Anklänge slawisch-folkloristischer Melodik. Bald nach Pejačevićs Tod gerät ihr Werk in Vergessenheit und wird in den 1980er-Jahren neu entdeckt, angestossen durch die Forschung der kroatischen Musikwissenschaftlerin Koraljka Kos.

Musikstücke

Ouvertüre für großes Orchester in d-moll, Op. 49 veröffentlicht durch TheJapanSinfonia: Hisayoshi Inoue dirigiert The Japan Sinfonia, aufgenommen live in der Suginami Koukaido Hall, Tokyo am 28.09.2015.

Impromptu für Klavier solo, Op. 9a veröffentlicht durch Art Of Sound And Vision und gespielt von Roland Grlica (Klavier), aufgenommen im Croatian Music Institute in Zagreb am 01.06.2018. 

Sonate für Violine und Klavier, Op.26: 2. Satz, Andante con moto veröffentlicht und gespielt vom DUO SCHMID – CHERNICHKA: Heidi Schmid (Violine) und Tatiana Chernichka (Klavier), Livemitschnitt.

Musica Femina International (EU-Projekt 2018–2020): Video Dora PEJAČEVIĆ (1885–1923) (10 Min.)

Das Video, produziert vom Cellisten und Ehemann der Pianistin, Tobias Stosiek, über Dora Pejacevic entstand für die Ausstellung MusicaFemina – aus dem Schatten ans Licht, die 2018  in der Pflanzenorangerie Schönbrunn zum Ausgangspunkt des Creative Europe Projekts MusicaFemina – women made music wurde. Natasa Veljkovic lehrt an der mdw – Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien. Sie hat bei cpo das Gesamtwerk für Klavier solo der Komponistin eingespielt.

Feminale der Musik

Live-Interview über die Komponistinnen Dora Pejačević und Florence Price sowie das Archiv Frau und Musik Frankfurt/Main mit Mary Ellen Kitchens

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival