Felicitas Kukuck

Feminale of Music

A black and white photo of the composer Felicitas Kukuck

»Hindemith was a great teacher. [...] the most interesting and stimulating thing we learned from him was the unanimous melody! It could not be a song, not a sonata theme, not a fugue theme, but the melody 'in itself'. These investigations were the most interesting and stimulating thing I have experienced in my studies.« – Felicitas Kukuck in her autobiography, 1989

Born on November 2, 1914 in Hamburg, Germany; died on June 4, 2001 in Hamburg, Germany. Actually Felicitas Kukuck wants to study school music. Because of her Jewish ancestors, she was not allowed to do so in Berlin in 1936 during the Nazi era. Instead, she studied piano and flute there, and composition with Paul Hindemith. She is strongly influenced by Hindemith. In her autobiography she describes the great impression his teaching has made on her. Hindemith's music is soon classified as »degenerate« by the Nazis and he leaves the country. Despite this, and against the explicit advice of her piano professor, she plays a composition by Hindemith at her final examination. Even after that she remains very brave, stays in Berlin with her husband during the war and hides a Jewish woman in her own apartment. She does not want to leave Germany. »The music – the German music, the land of Johann Sebastian Bach held me tight. Here I was rooted. This is where I wanted to live. I would never have left,« she says in 1980 in a conversation with Eike Funck.

In her autobiography, Felicitas Kukuck does not go into much detail about her work as a composer. Yet she has created a body of work of over 1,000 compositions in the course of her life. Most of them are vocal compositions, written for singing circles, for church and children's choirs, but there are also many instrumental pieces, often for children. When composing, she always stays within the range of an extended tonality. She composes expressly for laymen and adapts the degree of difficulty to their abilities. Thus Kukuck deliberately positions herself outside the musical avant-garde, as cultivated in Darmstadt and Donaueschingen after the Second World War. Church music is also of great importance to Kukuck. In her sacred compositions she often deals with the »dialogue between Judaism and Christianity, between Old and New Testament«, as her daughter Margret Johannsen describes.

Compositions

Die Brücke, published by lilatraum and recorded by the ensemble »Columba in excelsis«, students of the Académie Supérieur de Musique de Strasbourg: Lilia Dornhof (soprano), Noémie Jussel (recorder) and Priska Weibel (theorbo), recorded on 28.02.2016 in the Friedenskirche in Kehl.

Psalm 126 (3:35), final chorus of the opera »The Man Moses«, published by Felicitas and sung by Felicitas Kukuck

Die Todesfuge (7:24) - motet for mixed choir and snare drum, published by and sung by the Lilienfelder Cantorei conducted by Klaus-Martin Bresgott, concert recording of November 4, 2012, Sophienkirche Berlin

Und es ward: Hiroshima (excerpt), published by Felicitas and performed by the TrinitatisChor Altona (with guests and instrumentalists) under the direction of Jörg Mall in the Christianskirche in Hamburg-Ottensen on May 4, 2013 at the 34th German Protestant Kirchentag

Interview

Dr. Beatrix Borchard and Dr. Margret Johannsen talk about their mother Felicitas Kukuck

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020

The ZKM honors female composers with a four-week digital festival

Felicitas Kukuck

Feminale der Musik

Ein Schwarz-Weiß-Foto der Komponistin Felicitas Kukuck

»Hindemith war ein großartiger Lehrer. [...] das interessanteste und anregendste, was wir bei ihm lernten, war die einstimmige Melodie! Es durfte kein Lied sein, kein Sonatenthema, kein Fugenthema, sondern die Melodie 'an sich'. Diese Untersuchungen waren das interessanteste und anregendste, was ich in meinem Studium erlebt habe.« –Felicitas Kukuck in ihrer Autobiographie, 1989

Geboren am 2. November 1914 in Hamburg, Deutschland; verstorben am 4. Juni 2001 in Hamburg, Deutschland. Eigentlich will Felicitas Kukuck Schulmusik studieren. Wegen ihrer jüdischen Vorfahren wird ihr das im Nazi-Deutschland im Jahr 1936 in Berlin nicht erlaubt. Stattdessen studiert sie dort Klavier und Flöte sowie Komposition bei Paul Hindemith. Von Hindemith wird sie stark geprägt. In ihrer Autobiographie beschreibt sie den großen Eindruck, den sein Unterricht bei ihr hinterlassen hat. Hindemiths Musik wird von den Nazis bald als »entartet« eingestuft und er verlässt das Land. Trotzdem und gegen den ausdrücklichen Rat ihres Klavierprofessors spielt sie bei ihrer Abschlussprüfung eine Komposition von Hindemith. Auch anschließend bleibt sie sehr mutig, harrt während des Krieges mit ihrem Mann in Berlin aus und versteckt eine Jüdin in der eigenen Wohnung. Sie will Deutschland nicht verlassen. »Die Musik – die deutsche Musik, das Land Johann Sebastian Bachs hielt mich fest. Hier war ich verwurzelt. Hier wollte ich leben. Ich wäre nie fortgegangen«, sagt sie 1980 in einem Gespräch mit Eike Funck.

In ihrer Autobiographie geht Felicitas Kukuck nur wenig auf ihre Arbeit als Komponistin ein. Dabei hat sie im Lauf ihres Lebens ein Werk von über 1.000 Kompositionen geschaffen. Der größte Teil sind Vokalkompositionen, geschrieben für Singkreise, für Kirchen- und Kinderchöre, aber auch viele Instrumentalstücke, oft für Kinder, sind darunter. Sie bleibt beim Komponieren immer im Bereich einer erweiterten Tonalität. Sie komponiert ausdrücklich für Laien und passt den Schwierigkeitsgrad deren Fähigkeiten an. Kukuck positioniert sich damit bewusst außerhalb der musikalischen Avantgarde, wie sie nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg in Darmstadt und Donaueschingen gepflegt wird. Große Bedeutung hat für Kukuck auch die Kirchenmusik. In ihren geistlichen Kompositionen beschäftigt sie sich häufig mit dem »Dialog von Judentum und Christentum, von Altem und Neuem Testament«, wie ihre Tochter Margret Johannsen beschreibt.

Musikstücke

Die Brücke, veröffentlicht durch lilatraum und eingespielt vom Ensemble »Columba in excelsis«, Studierende der Académie Supérieur de Musique de Strasbourg: Lilia Dornhof (Sopran), Noémie Jussel (Blockflöte) und Priska Weibel (Theorbe), aufgenommen am 28.02.2016 in der Friedenskirche in Kehl.

Psalm 126 (3:35), Schlusschor der Oper »Der Mann Mose«, veröffentlicht durch Felicitas und gesungen vom Singkreis Felicitas Kukuck

Die Todesfuge (7:24) – Motette für gemischten Chor und kleine Trommel, veröffentlicht durch und gesungen von der Lilienfelder Cantorei unter der Leitung von Klaus-Martin Bresgott, Konzertmitschnitt vom 4. November 2012, Sophienkirche Berlin

Und es ward: Hiroshima (Ausschnitt), veröffentlicht durch Felicitas und aufgeführt vom TrinitatisChor Altona (mit Gästen und Instrumentalisten) unter der Leitung von Jörg Mall in der Christianskirche in Hamburg-Ottensen am 4. Mai 2013 auf dem 34. Deutschen Evangelischen Kirchentag

Gespräch

Dr. Beatrix Borchard und Dr. Margret Johannsen sprechen über ihre Mutter Felicitas Kukuck

Feminale der Musik

Live-Interview über die Komponistin Felicitas Kukuck und ihren Nachlass am Archiv Frau und Musik, Frankfurt/Main mit Julian Fischer

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival