Tony Conrad

Year of birth, place
1940, Concord, New Hampshire
Year of death, place
2016, Cheektowaga, New York), United States
Role at the ZKM
Artist of the Collection
Biography

Tony Conrad's artistic creativity cannot be subsumed by any one category. He is certainly best known as a musician and film-maker, yet he is also a painter, a video- and performance artist, and at the same time a mediator of his knowledge by means of quantities of writings and teaching activities.

As a violinist he was among the founders of Minimal music, which developed as Minimal art's accompaniment in the 1960s. Inspired by Jack Smith, pioneer of underground films in New York, and Beverly Grant, his first wife, he turned to the medium of film. In 1966, Conrad made Flicker, one of the key works of structural film. The alternation between dark and light images with varying frequencies is often the medium of such experimental films.

Over the years, he had been creating films such as Coming Attraction, Straight and Narrow [both 1970] or Articulation of Boolean Algebra for Film Opticals [1975], and videos such as Phonograph and Cycles of 3's and 7's [both 1977], Hail the Fallen [1981], and In Line [1986]. While the films primarily deal with perceptual problems, he often makes use of narrative structures in his video works. In the 1970s, Conrad began to occupy himself more with socio-cultural power structures. With his teaching position in the Department of Media Study at SUNY, Buffalo, an involvement with structures of control and authority increasingly began to have significance for him. Conrad is still active at SUNY, Buffalo, teaching video production and analysis. Tony Conrad has become a central figure for many media artists of a younger generation [for example Tony Oursler and Mike Kelley, among others] because of his having left the Modernist formal tradition, among whose masters he had belonged to in the 1960s, behind.

Tony Conrad

Geburtsjahr, Ort
1940, Concord, New Hampshire
Todesjahr, Ort
2016, Cheektowaga, New York), Vereinigte Staaten
Rolle am ZKM
Künstler/in der Sammlung
Biografie

Tony Conrads künstlerisches Schaffen lässt sich nicht unter einem Begriff subsumieren. Am bekanntesten ist er sicherlich als Musiker und Filmemacher, doch ist er auch Maler, Video- und Performancekünstler, und zugleich durch umfangreiche Schriften und Lehrtätigkeiten Vermittler seines Wissens.

Als Violinist gehört er zu den Begründern der Minimal Music, die als Pendant zur Minimal Art in den 1960er Jahren entsteht. Inspiriert durch Jack Smith, Pionier des New Yorker Underground Films, und Beverly Grant, seiner ersten Frau, wendet er sich dem Film zu und realisiert mit The Flicker ein Hauptwerk des Strukturellen Films: Der Wechsel von dunklen und hellen oder farbigen Bildern mit unterschiedlicher Frequenz ist häufiges Stilmittel solcher Experimentalfilme.
Über die Jahre entstehen Filme wie Coming Attraction, Straight and Narrow [beide 1970] oder Articulation of Boolean Algebra for Film Opticals [1975] und Videos wie Phonograph und Cycles of 3's and 7's [beide 1977], Hail the Fallen [1981] und In Line [1986]. Während die Filme primär perzeptive Probleme behandeln, bedient er sich in seinen Videoarbeiten oft narrativer Strukturen. In den 1970er Jahren beginnt Conrad sich stärker mit soziokulturellen Machtstrukturen zu befassen. Mit seiner Lehrtätigkeit ab 1976 am Department of Media Study der State University of New York at Buffalo [SUNY, Buffalo], wo er bis heute unterrichtet, gewinnt die Auseinandersetzung mit Kontroll- und Autoritätsstrukturen für ihn zunehmend an Bedeutung. Conrad wurde durch sein Verlassen der formalen, modernistischen Tradition, zu deren Meistern er in den 1960er Jahren gehörte, für viele Medienkünstler einer jüngeren Generation [z.B. Tony Oursler, Mike Kelley] zu einer zentralen Leitfigur.