Artemi – Maria Gioti

Feminale of Music

Portrait of Giga-Hertz-Price Winner Artemi-Maria Gioti

Artemi – Maria Gioti is a composer and researcher working across the disciplinary boundaries between art, science and technology. Her research interests include computational intelligence, musical robotics, sonification, as well as collaborative and participatory sound art.

Artemi – Maria Gioti is born on April 13, 1990 in Greece, she currently lives and works in Graz, Austria. Her compositions consist of works for solo instruments, ensemble, live and interactive electronics and have been performed in Greece, Austria, Portugal, Germany, Denmark, The Netherlands and in the USA. One piece of Gioti is called »Temperatures« and she was awarded the KlimARS Prize in 2016. It is based of sinifictation and audification of climate data. She has worked with some temperature curves of the European seas and audified them which means she read these temperature curves as sound. Gioti also sonified them which means she has mapped these values into parameters that control the overall structure of the piece. Especially in the third part you can exactly hear how these curves developped.


She studied Composition at the University of Macedonia (Greece), Electroacoustic Composition at the University of Music and performing Arts of Vienna, and Composition – Computer Music at the Institute for Electronic Music and Acoustics (IEM) of the University of Music and Performing Arts of Graz. She is currently pursuing her doctoral degree at the same university. Since 2018 she is the Principal Investigator of the artistic research project Inter_agency, hosted at the Institute of Electronic Music and Acoustics (IEM) in Graz and exploring the potential of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning for electro-instrumental composition. She is a member of the electronic duo intra-sonic (Artemi – Maria Gioti and Visda Goudarzi). Together with Kosmas Giannoutakis, she developed and moderated the CECIA project (Collaborative Electroacoustic Composition with Intelligent Agents), where she implemented the machine learning algorithms into the project. CECIA is part of the Interfaces project, which took place within the Creative Europe framework of the European Commission and was funded by the EU. The world premiere of CECIA took place on December 14, 2019, at the festival »Sonic Experiments: Telematics« organized by ZKM | Hertz-Lab. Furthermore, Artemi – Maria Gioti received the Giga-Hertz-Production Award of ZKM | Karlsruhe in 2019. 

 

 

Music pieces

Imitation game for human and robotic percussionist recorded for the Giga-Hertz-Award 2019, concert on 23.11.2019: Manuel Alcaraz Clemente (percussion) and Nicolae David (videography).

Symbiosis for double bass and interactive electronics published by Artemi – Maria Gioti and played by Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka (contrabass).

Converge/Diverge published by Artemi – Maria Gioti, played by Florian Müller (piano) and Nikolaus Feinig (contrabass from Klangforum Wien), Nicolae David (videography).

Interview Artemi – Maria Gioti and presentation of her work »Temperatures« published by CCCA-Climate Change Centre Austria. Artemi – Maria Gioti is KlimARS2016 award winner.

The work for multi-channel media is based on the sonification of data on climate change provided by the European Environment Agency.

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020
Online

Artemi – Maria Gioti

Feminale der Musik

Portrait von Giga-Hertz-Preisträgerin Artemi-Maria Gioti

Artemi – Maria Gioti ist eine Komponistin und Forscherin, die transdisziplinär zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie arbeitet. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen Computational Intelligence, Musikrobotik, Sonifikation sowie kollaborative und partizipative Klangkunst.

Artemi – Maria Gioti ist am 13. April 1990 in Griechenland geboren, sie lebt und arbeitet in Graz, Österreich. Ihre Kompositionen umfassen Werke für Soloinstrumente, Ensemble, Live- und interaktive Elektronik und wurden in Griechenland, Österreich, Portugal, Deutschland, Dänemark, den Niederlanden und in den USA aufgeführt. Ein Stück von Gioti heißt »Temperaturen« und sie wurde 2016 dafür mit dem KlimARS-Preis ausgezeichnet. Das Stück basiert auf der Sinifikation und Audifizierung von Klimadaten. Sie hat mit einigen Temperaturkurven der europäischen Meere gearbeitet und diese auditiert, d.h. sie hat diese Temperaturkurven als Ton gelesen. Gioti hat sie auch sonifiziert, d.h. sie hat diese Werte in Parametern abgebildet, die die Gesamtstruktur des Stückes steuern. Besonders im dritten Teil kann man genau hören, wie sich diese Kurven entwickelt haben.

Sie studierte Komposition an der Universität Mazedonien (Griechenland), Elektroakustische Komposition an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien und Komposition – Computermusik am Institut für elektronische Musik und Akustik (IEM) der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Graz. Derzeit promoviert sie an der gleichen Universität. Seit 2018 ist sie Principal Investigator des künstlerischen Forschungsprojekts Inter_agency, das am Institut für Elektronische Musik und Akustik (IEM) in Graz angesiedelt ist und das Potenzial von künstlicher Intelligenz und maschinellem Lernen für die elektro-instrumentale Komposition erforscht. Sie ist Mitglied des elektronischen Duos intra-sonic (Artemi – Maria Gioti und Visda Goudarzi). Sie entwickelte und moderierte zusammen mit Kosmas Giannoutakis das CECIA-Projekt (Collaborative Electroacoustic Composition with Intelligent Agents), bei dem sie die Machine-Learning-Algorithmen in das Projekt implementierte. CECIA ist Teil des Interfaces Projekts, welches innerhalb des Rahmenprogramms Kreatives Europa der Europäischen Kommission stattfand und wurde von der EU gefördert. Die Uraufführung von CECIA fand am 14. Dezember 2019 bei dem von ZKM | Hertz-Labor veranstalteten Festival »Sonic Experiments: Telematics« statt. Des Weiteren erhielt Artemi – Maria Gioti den Giga-Hertz-Produktionspreis des ZKM | Karlsruhe im Jahr 2019. 

Musikstücke

Imitation game for human and robotic percussionist aufgenommen im Rahmen des Giga-Hertz-Preises 2019, Konzert vom 23.11.2019: Manuel Alcaraz Clemente (Percussion) und Nicolae David (Videographie).

Symbiosis for double bass and interactive electronics veröffentlicht durch Artemi – Maria Gioti und gespielt von Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka (Kontrabass).

Converge/Diverge veröffentlicht durch Artemi – Maria Gioti, gespielt von Florian Müller (Klavier) und Nikolaus Feinig (Kontrabass vom Klangforum Wien), Nicolae David (Videographie).

Interview Artemi – Maria Gioti und Vorstellung Ihres Werks »Temperatures« veröffentlicht durch CCCA-Climate Change Centre Austria. Artemi – Maria Gioti ist KlimARS2016 Preisträgerin.

Das Werk für Mehrkanal-Medien basiert auf der Sonifikation von Daten zum Klimawandel, die von der Europäischen Umweltagentur zur Verfügung gestellt wurden.

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival