Karl Steinbuch | Lernmatrix

explained by Marco Stang and Felix Pistorius

explained by Marco Stang and Felix Pistorius
explained by Marco Stang and Felix Pistorius
Duration
9:16
Category
Work of Art
Description

The »Lernmatrix« (learning matrix) was developed by Karl Steinbuch during the 1960s in Karlsruhe, at what is today the Institute for Information Processing Technologies at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). It was one of the first technically viable self-learning systems.

This example of the »Lernmatrix« is from 1969 and consists of two modules. The input module is the system’s eye, enabling the reading of five vowels in uppercase and lowercase, captured via photocells and transmitted to the output module which is the system’s brain, where a matrix of two hundred relays undertakes the learning and recognition of the letters.

During the »learning phase« the letters are assigned a »meaning.« For this purpose, the switches in the relay matrix alternate between columns and rows to express affiliation. In »recall mode« the »Lernmatrix« has learned the form of the letters and is even able to recognize letters that do not correspond exactly to the letter that has been learned.

Video documentary:

ZKM | Videostudio

Camera: Frenz Jordt, Andy Koch
Editing: Andy Koch

Participants

Karl Steinbuch | Lernmatrix

erklärt von Marco Stang und Felix Pistorius

erklärt von Marco Stang und Felix Pistorius
erklärt von Marco Stang und Felix Pistorius
Dauer
9:16
Kategorie
Werk
Beschreibung

Die »Lernmatrix« wurde von Karl Steinbuch in den 1960er-Jahren in Karlsruhe am heutigen Institut für Technik der Informationsverarbeitung (ITIV) des Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) entwickelt und ist einer der ersten technischen Realisierung für lernfähige Systeme.

Dieses Exponat der »Lernmatrix« entstand 1969 und besteht aus zwei Modulen. Das Eingabemodul ist das Auge des Systems, es ermöglicht das Einlesen von fünf Vokalen in Groß- und Kleinbuchstaben. Diese werden über Fotoelemente erfasst und an das Ausgabemodul übermittelt. Das Ausgabemodul ist das Gehirn des Systems. Dort realisiert eine Matrix aus zweihundert Relais das Lernen und Wiedererkennen der Buchstaben.

Während der »Lernphase« wird den Buchstaben eine Bedeutung zugeordnet. Dazu werden die Koppelelemente in der Relaismatrix zwischen Spalten und Zeilen verändert, um die Zugehörigkeit auszudrücken. In der »Kannphase« hat die »Lernmatrix« die Form der Buchstaben erlernt und kann Buchstaben, selbst wenn sie nicht exakt dem eingelernten Buchstaben entsprechen, wiedererkennen.

Videodokumentation:

ZKM | Videostudio

Kamera: Frenz Jordt, Andy Koch
Schnitt: Andy Koch

Mitwirkende