Bohumila Grögerová

Year of birth, place
1921, Prague, Czech Republic
Year of death, place
2014, Prague, Czech Republic
Role at the ZKM
Artist of the Collection
Biography

Bohumila Grögerová, born Tauferová was a Czech poet, prose writer, translator, author of radio plays and children's books.

Life
Bohumila Grögerová's family moved from Prague to Olomouc in 1923, to Brno (1926-1929) and back to Prague. In the years 1932-1948 she graduated from the Charlotta Garrigue Masaryk Girls' Real Gymnasium (1932-1940) and then from a public school for secretaries.
In 1942-1945 she worked at the Social Welfare Association as a foreign language secretary and met Josef Hiršal. In May 1945 she joins the press department of the Ministry of National Defense. In 1947 she began studying Czech and Russian at the Faculty of Philosophy at Charles University, but dropped out after two semesters. In 1951 she joined the publishing house Naše vojsko, and after completing her library studies in 1961 she was hired as a foreign language documentalist. After a political review, she had to leave in 1972, but got a job as an editor at the Center for Scientific, Technical and Economic Information (ÚVTEI). She retired in January 1980 and lived in Prague until her death in 2014.

Work
Since the mid-1950s, Bohumila Grögerová wrote children's books, translated and collaborated with Josef Hiršal, among others on the publications »Job-boj« and »Let let – pokus o rekospitulaci«. In the 1970s she was not allowed to publish. She is the author of »Meandry« (1996), a collection of experimental prose, and of two memoir-like publications, »Branka z pantů« (1998) and »Čas mezi tehdy a teď« (2004). Art and literary historian Radim Kopáč, who was a friend of Bohumila Gröger during the last decades of her life, published a book interview entitled »Klikyháky paměti« in 2005.

In 2009, her poetry collection »Manuscript« was awarded the Magnesia Litera Prize in the poetry and book of the year category.

The Stuttgart School
In the early 1960s, Bohumila Grögerová and Josef Hiršal discovered experimental, concrete literature in the circles of Franz Mon, Walter Höllerer and Max Bense. Through the library exchange service they obtained publications such as the anthology »movens« (1960) or Max Bense's »Plakatwelt« 1952. They contacted Max Bense, who sent them a package containing the magazine »Augenblick«, the series »rot«, which he edited together with Elisabeth Walther, as well as some issues of the »Grundlagenstudien aus Kybernetik und Geisteswissenschaft«. In March 1962 Grögerová and Hiršal finished their collection of poems »JOB-BOJ« [= Josef/Bohumila, Bohumila/Josef], which was published in 1968. 
At the beginning of 1963 they begin a correspondence with Eugen Gomringer and Haroldo de Campos. They become part of the international network of concrete poets around Max Bense, which included, among others, Helmut Heißenbüttel, Pierre Garnier, Ernst Jandl and Reinhard Döhl. Grögerová and Hiršal organize a series of lectures on concrete poetry and information aesthetics in Prague during this period and translate works of concrete poetry as well as theoretical texts by Max Bense into Czech. 
Max Bense in turn includes their poems in the exhibition »Concrete Poetry International« (1965). Hansjörg Mayer invites her to contribute to the portfolio »konkrete poesie international« and publishes a selection from »job boj« in the series »Futura«.
After the suppression of the Prague Spring, Grögerová and Hiršal's planned publications on concrete poetry were cancelled by publishers, including an anthology on nonsense poetry. It finally appeared in 1997. 

Bibliography
»slovo, písmo akce, hlas. k estetice kultury technického veku«, »Otázky a názor«, vol. 63, Prague, Československý spisovatel, 1967
»BOJ JOB JOB BOJ (JOB-FIGHT)«, Prague: Československ Spisovatel, 1968.
»Nonsense. parafráze. paberky. parody. padelky«, Prague: Mladá fronta, 1997. »Let. Pokus o rekapitulaci vol 1". Prague: Rozmluvy 1993.
»Let Let. Pokus o rekapitulaci«, vol. 2, 3, Prague: Mladá fronta 1994.
»Let Let. In the Flight of Years«, with a foreword by Václav Havel. Graz: Literaturverlag Droschl, 1994.
»Vrh kostek« [The Throw of the Dice], Prague: Torst, 1993.

Bohumila Grögerová

Geburtsjahr, Ort
1921, Prag, Tschechische Republik
Todesjahr, Ort
2014, Prag, Tschechische Republik
Rolle am ZKM
Künstler/in der Sammlung
Biografie

Bohumila Grögerová, geb. Tauferová war eine tschechische Dichterin, Prosaschriftstellerin, Übersetzerin, Autorin von Hörspielen und Kinderbüchern.

Leben
Bohumila Grögerovás Familie zieht 1923 von Prag nach Olmütz, nach Brünn (1926–1929) und zurück nach Prag. In den Jahren 1932–1948 absolvierte sie das Charlotta-Garrigue-Masaryk-Mädchenrealgymnasium (1932–1940) und anschließend eine öffentliche Schule für Sekretärinnen.
In den Jahren 1942–1945 arbeitet sie beim Sozialhilfeverband als Fremdsprachensekretärin und lernt Josef Hiršal kennen. Im Mai 1945 tritt sie in die Presseabteilung des Ministeriums für Nationale Verteidigung ein. 1947 beginnt sie ein Studium der tschechischen und tussischen Sprache an der philosophischen Fakultät der Karls-Universität, das sie jedoch nach zwei Semestern abbricht. Im Jahr 1951 tritt sie in den Verlag Naše vojsko ein, und nach Abschluss des Bibliotheksstudiums im Jahr 1961 wir sie als Fremdsprachendokumentaristin eingestellt. Nach einer politischen Überprüfung musst sie 1972 gehen, bekommt aber eine Stelle als Redakteurin beim Zentrum für wissenschaftliche, technische und wirtschaftliche Informationen (ÚVTEI). Im Januar 1980 geht sie in Ruhestand und lebt bis zu ihrem Tod im Jahr 2014 in Prag.

Werk
Ab Mitte der 1950er-Jahre schreibt Bohumila Grögerová Kinderbücher, übersetzt und arbeitet mit Josef Hiršal zusammen, u.a. an den Publikationen »Job-boj« und »Let let - pokus o rekospitulaci«. In den 1970er-Jahren darf sie nicht veröffentlichen. Sie ist die Autorin von »Meandry« (1996), einer Sammlung experimenteller Prosa, und von zwei Memoiren-ähnlichen Veröffentlichungen, »Branka z pantů« (1998) und »Čas mezi tehdy a teď « (2004). Der Kunst- und Literaturhistoriker Radim Kopáč, der mit Bohumila Grögerova in den letzten Jahrzehnten ihres Lebens befreundet war, veröffentlichte 2005 ein Buchinterview unter dem Titel »Klikyháky paměti«.

Im Jahr 2009 wurde ihr Gedichtband »Rukopis« mit dem Magnesia Litera-Preis in der Kategorie Lyrik und Buch des Jahres ausgezeichnet.

Bohumila Grögerova und die Stuttgarter Schule
Anfang der 1960er-Jahre entdecken Bohumila Grögerová und Josef Hiršal die experimentelle, konkrete Literatur im Umfeld von Franz Mon, Walter Höllerer und Max Bense. Durch den bibliothekarischen Austauschdienst besorgen sie sich Publikationen wie etwa den Sammelband »movens« (1960) oder Max Benses »Plakatwelt« 1952. Sie nehmen Kontakt mit Bense auf, der ihnen ein Paket mit der Zeitschrift »Augenblick«, der Reihe »rot« sowie einigen Heften der »Grundlagenstudien aus Kybernetik und Geisteswissenschaft« zusendet. Im März 1962 stellen Grögerová und Josef Hiršal ihre Gedichtsammlung »JOB-BOJ« [= Josef/Bohumila, Bohumila/Josef] fertig, die 1968 erscheint. 
Anfang 1963 beginnen Grögerová und Hiršal einen Briefwechsel mit Eugen Gomringer und Haroldo de Campos. Sie werden Teil des Netzwerkes konkreter Dichter um Bense und Elisabeth Walther, zu dem, unter anderem, Helmut Heißenbüttel, Pierre Garnier, Ernst Jandl und Reinhard Döhl zählen. Grögerová und Hiršal organisieren in dieser Zeit in Prag eine Reihe von Vorträgen über konkrete Poesie und Informationsästhetik und übersetzen Werke der konkreten Poesie sowie theoretische Texte Max Benses ins Tschechische. 
Max Bense wiederum nimmt ihre Gedichte in die Ausstellung »Konkrete Poesie international« (1965) auf. Hansjörg Mayer lädt sie zur Mitwirkung an der Mappe »konkrete poesie international« ein und veröffentlicht in der Reihe »Futura« eine Auswahl aus »job boj«.
Nach der Niederschlagung des Prager Frühlings wurden die Grögerová und Hiršal geplante Publikationen zur konkreten Poesie von den Verlagen abgesagt, u. a. eine Anthologie zur Unsinnspoesie. Sie erscheint schließlich 1997. 

Bibliographie

  • Josef Hiršal, Bohumila Grögerová, »futura 6«, hg. von Hansjörg Mayer, Stuttgart: Ed. Meyer, 1966.
  • Josef Hiršal, Bohumila Grögerová (Hg.), »slovo, písmo akce, hlas. estetice kultury technického věku. Výběr z esejů, manifestů a uměleckých programů druhé poloviny 20. století«, »Otázky a názor«, Bd. 63, Prag, Československý spisovatel, 1967.
  • Josef Hiršal, Bohumila Grögerová, »BOJ JOB JOB BOJ«, Prag: Československ Spisovatel, 1968.
  • Josef Hiršal, Bohumila Grögerová (Hg.), »Intertexty«, Kassel: Boczkowski 1970.
  • Josef Hiršal, Bohumila Grögerová, »Let Let. Pokus o rekapitulaci«, Bd. 1, Prag: Rozmluvy 1993.
  • Josef Hiršal, Bohumila Grögerová, »Let Let. Pokus o rekapitulaci« Bd. 2/3«, Prag: Mladá fronta 1994.
  • Josef Hiršal, Bohumila Grögerová, »Let Let. Im Flug der Jahre«, mit einem Geleitwort von Václav Havel. Graz: Literaturverlag Droschl, 1994.
  • Josef Hiršal, Bohumila Grögerová (Hg.), »Nonsens. parafráze. paberky. parodie. padelky«, Prag: Mladá fronta, 1997.