David Link

Year of birth, place
1971, Düsseldorf, Germany
Role at the ZKM
Artist of the Collection
Biography

David Link is an artist and theorist. In 2004, Link took his PhD in philosophy with a work on the history of computerized text generation. From 2009 to 2011, he held the chair of ‘Experimental Technologies in the Art Context’ at the Art Academy of Leipzig, Germany. In 2012, Link was participating artist at dOCUMENTA(13), Kassel.

His computer art installations and performances have been exhibited internationally, including Arnolfini, Bristol, UK (2010); MU, Eindhoven, the Netherlands (2010); dOCUMENTA 13, Kassel, Germany (2012); HNF, Paderborn, Germany (2012); and Microwave Festival, Hong Kong (2012).

Recent publication include ‘Enigma Rebus’, Interdisciplinary Science Review, 2011; ‘Machine Heart – Das Herz der Maschine’, dOCUMENTA 13: 100 Notes – 100 Thoughts, 2012; and ‘Love-letters, first derivative’, Gagarin, 2012. Link’s current research focuses on the development of an archeology of algorithmic artifacts.

David Link

Geburtsjahr, Ort
1971, Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Rolle am ZKM
Künstler/in der Sammlung
Biografie

Der Medien-Künstler und Theoretiker David Link promovierte 2004 in Philosophie mit einer Arbeit über die Geschichte computerbasierter Textgenerierung. Von 2009 bis 2011 hatte er die Professur ‘Experimentelle Technologien im Kunstkontext’ an der HGB Leipzig inne. 2012 nahm Link an der dOCUMENTA(13) in Kassel teil.

Seine Computerkunst-Installationen und -Performances werden weltweit gezeigt, etwa im Arnolfini, Bristol, England (2010); MU, Eindhoven, Niederlande (2010); dOCUMENTA 13, Kassel (2012); HNF, Paderborn (2012); und Microwave Festival, Hong Kong (2012).

Einige seiner letzten Veröffentlichungen sind: ‘Enigma Rebus’, Interdisciplinary Science Review, 2011; ‘Machine Heart – Das Herz der Maschine’, dOCUMENTA 13: 100 Notes – 100 Thoughts, 2012; and ‘Love-letters, first derivative’, Gagarin, 2012. Seine derzeitigen Forschungen fokussieren sich auf die Entwicklung einer Archäologie algorithmischer Artefakte.