Anna Bon di Venezia

Feminale of Music

You can see writing on paper.

Little is known about the personal life of the talented female composer. However, the few testimonies that exist of Anna Bon di Venezia point to an impressive musical career through various European countries.

Anna Bon di Venezia was born in August 1738 in Bologna, Italy. She comes from a successful Italian family of musicians who were active in many European countries. Anna Bon received her musical education at the famous »Ospedale della Pietà« in Venice. The Ospedale was an orphanage for girls, and at the same time an important music school where teachers like Antonio Vivaldi taught. The girls orchestra of the Ospedale had an excellent international reputation. Notably, the Ospedale also trained girls and young women on the cello, which was considered »indecent« in the rest of Europe at the time.

After her apprenticeship in Venice, she spent several years in Bayreuth, where Anna Bon and her parents were invited by Wilhelmine of Bayreuth. Wilhelmine strongly encourages the young musician, who distinguishes herself as a singer, cembalist and composer. Most of her compositions that are still known today are written in Bayreuth: six flute sonatas, six cembalo sonatas and six trio sonatas for flute and basso continuo, all of which are published by a publishing house in Nuremberg. After the death of her patron Wilhelmine, little is known about Anna Bon's further career. The last known station of her life leads her and her family to the court of the Prince of Esterházy, where she sings in Joseph Haydn's ensemble.

Op. 1 No. 4 Sonata for flute in D major – Allegro Moderato, published by Maria Gabriela Alvarado, flute: Sydney ZumMallen, baroque cello and Kyle Collins, cembalo, recorded on November 9, 2016 at Voertman Hall, UNT College of Music.

Op. 2 No. 1 – Cembalo Sonata in G minor, published by ComposersbyNumbers: Paule van Parys, harpsichord

Divertimento in d minor, Op. 3, No. 3, published by mirinae0904: The Ensemble Umbach and Consorten is specialized in early music. Elke Martha Umbach and Susanne Wendler, flute and Anke Dennert, cembalo 

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020
Online

Anna Bon di Venezia

Feminale der Musik

Zu sehen sind Schriftzüge auf Papier.

Über das persönliche Leben der talentierten Komponistin ist nicht viel bekannt. Dabei verweisen die wenigen Zeugnisse, welche von Anna Bon di Venezia existieren, auf eine eindrucksvolle musikalische Karriere in verschiedenen Ländern Europas.

Im August 1738 wird Anna Bon di Venezia in Bologna, Italien geboren. Sie stammt aus einer erfolgreichen italienischen Musikerfamilie, die in vielen europäischen Ländern tätig ist. Ihre musikalische Ausbildung erhält Anna Bon am berühmten »Ospedale della Pietà« in Venedig. Das Ospedale war ein Waisenhaus für Mädchen, und gleichzeitig eine bedeutende Musikschule, an der Lehrer wie Antonio Vivaldi unterrichteten. Das Mädchenorchester des Ospedale hatte einen exzellenten, internationalen Ruf. Bemerkenswert ist, dass im Ospedale Mädchen und junge Frauen auch am Cello ausgebildet wurden, was im übrigen Europa damals als »unschicklich« galt.

Nach ihrer Lehrzeit in Venedig folgt ein mehrjähriger Aufenthalt in Bayreuth, wohin Anna Bon gemeinsam mit ihren Eltern von Wilhelmine von Bayreuth eingeladen wird. Wilhelmine fördert die junge Musikerin nachdrücklich, die sich als Sängerin, Cembalistin und Komponistin auszeichnet. In Bayreuth entsteht der größte Teil ihrer heute noch bekannten Kompositionen: sechs Flötensonaten, sechs Cembalosonaten sowie sechs Triosonaten für Flöte und Basso Continuo, die alle in einem Nürnberger Verlag veröffentlicht werden. Nach dem Tod ihrer Förderin Wilhelmine von Bayreuth ist nur noch wenig über den weiteren Werdegang Anna Bons bekannt. Die letzte bekannte Station in ihrem Leben führt sie mit ihrer Familie an den Hof des Fürsten von Esterházy, wo sie als Sängerin im Ensemble Joseph Haydns wirkt.
 

Musikstücke

Op. 1 No. 4 Sonate für Flöte in D Dur – Allegro Moderato, veröffentlicht durch Maria Gabriela Alvarado, Querflöte: Sydney ZumMallen, Barockcello und Kyle Collins, Cembalo, aufgenommen am 9. November 2016 in der Voertman Hall, UNT College of Music.

Op. 2 No. 1 – Cembalo Sonate in g-moll, veröffentlicht durch ComposersbyNumbers: Paule van Parys, Cembalo

Divertimento in d moll, Op. 3, No. 3, veröffentlicht durch mirinae0904: Das Ensemble Umbach und Consorten ist spezialisiert auf alte Musik. Elke Martha Umbach und Susanne Wendler, Flöte sowie Anke Dennert, Cembalo 

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival