Clara Schumann

Feminale of Music

The composer Clara Schumann on the blue 100 D-Mark note

»The practice of art is a big part of who I am. It's the air I breathe.« – Clara Schumann to Johannes Brahms, letter of October 15, 1868

Together with Fanny Hensel, Clara Schumann (1819–1896) is probably the most famous woman in music history today. In contrast to Fanny Hensel, who is largely forbidden to appear in public by her father and brother, Clara Schumann is systematically built up for a public career by her father as a child. She begins her career as a child prodigy at the piano with a performance at the Leipzig Gewandhaus at the age of 9. A picture-book career develops, during which Clara Schumann is one of the most sought-after international top pianists over many decades with exceptional consistency. She celebrates her 60th stage anniversary a few years before her death.

Even as a child, Clara Schumann also received composition lessons – an important building block of her career, since in the early 19th century the »composer-pianist« is a typical appearance, i.e. the composing pianist who plays his own compositions on the concert stage. Later, Clara is inspired to write her own compositions, especially by her husband, the composer Robert Schumann. For example, a joint composition is created, which is published under both names, the song cycle »Liebesfrühling« based on poems by Friedrich Rückert. Clara Schumann's oeuvre mainly comprises piano works and songs, but also chamber music and orchestral works. One of her most important compositions is the Piano Trio in G minor op. 17 from 1846. Clara Schumann died on May 20, 1896 in Frankfurt am Main.

In addition to the support of her husband, Clara Schumann is also handicapped in her own career by him. The largest English-language musicological encyclopedia, Grove, notes that Robert's creative work had priority over hers, and that for many years Clara was allowed to play and compose piano only during the hours when her husband was not disturbed. Other sources report that the concert tours that were important to Clara were always significantly restricted by Robert. After Robert's early death, Clara concentrated on her concert activities, gave up composing and moved to Baden Baden in 1862. In her small house in Lichtental on the edge of the Kloserwiese, musical salon culture is practiced. Besides Johannes Brahms, Clara Schumann is also friends with Pauline Viardot-Garcia, a celebrated singer of her time, who is introduced in the living room concert today by Malika Reyad.

Today's day of the »Feminale of Music« is dedicated to the city of Karlsruhe. A radio feature by Clara Müller-Wirth entitled »Clara Schumann in Karlsruhe«, which was created as part of her Bachelorthesis 2019/2020 at the Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences and the Karlsruhe University of Music, will be released. In it Clara Müller-Wirth reports on Clara Schumann's performances in Karlsruhe and quotes contemporary newspaper reviews and diary notes by Clara Schumann. The musicologists Beatrix Borchard and Joachim Draheim contribute expert knowledge about Clara Schumann in general and about her relationship to Karlsruhe.

Music Pieces

Pieces that Clara Schumann frequently performed in Karlsruhe include her own composition »Liebeszauber« and »Traumeswirren« by Robert Schumann. She played Brahms' famous Piano Quintet for the first time in Karlsruhe, in the house of the Karlsruhe Court Kapellmeister Hermann Levi, with whom she was a close friend.

Liebeszauber aus Sechs Lieder, Op. 13 #3, published by and sung by Anne Wright (soprano) accompanied by Brent Funderburk (piano). Recorded live at the Ravinia Steans Institute in August 2016

Robert Schumann: Fantasiestück Op.12 No. 7, published by Max Lima: Martha Argerich (piano) plays live on 29/01/2019 Fantasiestück »Traumes Wirren« as part of a concert recorded by the Italian radio station Rai 5

Johannes Brahms Sonata in F minor op. 34 b, published by and performed by Anastasia (1st piano) & Liubov Gromoglasova (2nd piano), recorded in 2012 at their duo recital in the Small Hall of the Moscow Conservatory.

In the summer of 1864 – during Brahms' stay with Clara Schumann in Baden-Baden – both played the Sonata for two pianos for the later Countess Anna von Hessen

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020
Online

Clara Schumann

Feminale der Musik

Die Komponistin Clara Schumann auf dem blauen 100 D-Mark Schein

»Die Ausübung der Kunst ist ja ein großer Teil meines Ichs, es ist mir die Luft, in der ich atme.« – Clara Schumann an Johannes Brahms, Brief vom 15. Oktober 1868

Gemeinsam mit Fanny Hensel ist Clara Schumann (1819–1896) die heute vermutlich bekannteste Frau der Musikgeschichte. Im Gegensatz zu Fanny Hensel, der das Auftreten in der Öffentlichkeit von Vater und Bruder weitestgehend verboten wird, wird Clara Schumann als Kind von ihrem Vater systematisch für eine öffentliche Karriere aufgebaut. Sie beginnt ihre Laufbahn als Wunderkind am Klavier mit einem Auftritt im Gewandhaus Leipzig im Alter von neun Jahren. Es entwickelt sich eine Bilderbuch-Karriere, während der Clara Schumann über viele Jahrzehnte in außergewöhnlicher Konstanz eine der gefragtesten internationalen Top-PianistInnen ist. Sie feiert wenige Jahre vor ihrem Tod ihr 60-jähriges Bühnenjubiläum.

Bereits als Kind erhält Clara Schumann auch Kompositionsunterricht – ein wichtiger Baustein ihrer Karriere, da im frühen 19. Jahrhundert der »Composer-Pianist« eine typische Erscheinung ist, also der komponierende Pianist, der auf der Konzertbühne seine eigenen Kompositionen spielt. Später wird Clara besonders durch ihren Mann, den Komponisten Robert Schumann, zu eigenen Kompositionen angeregt. Es entsteht zum Beispiel eine Gemeinschaftskomposition, die unter beider Namen veröffentlicht wird, der Liederzyklus »Liebesfrühling« nach Gedichten von Friedrich Rückert. Clara Schumanns Werk umfasst vor allem Klavierwerke und Lieder, aber auch Kammermusik und Orchesterwerke. Eine ihrer bedeutendsten Kompositionen ist das Klaviertrio g-Moll op. 17 von 1846. Schumann stirbt am 20. Mai 1896 in Frankfurt am Main.

Neben der Förderung durch ihren Mann wird Clara Schumann aber durch ihn in ihrer eigenen Karriere auch behindert. Das größte englischsprachige musikwissenschaftliche Lexikon, Grove, vermerkt, dass Roberts kreative Arbeit Priorität gegenüber der ihrigen hatte, und dass Clara während vieler Jahre nur in den Stunden Klavier spielen und komponieren durfte, in denen ihr Mann nicht gestört wurde. Andere Quellen berichten, dass die für Clara wichtigen Konzertreisen durch Robert immer wieder deutlich beschränkt wurden. Nach Roberts frühem Tod legt Clara den Schwerpunkt auf ihre Konzerttätigkeit, verzichtet auf das Komponieren und zieht 1862 nach Baden Baden. In ihrem kleinen Haus in Lichtental am Rande der Kloserwiese wird musikalische Salonkultur betrieben. Neben Johannes Brahms ist Clara Schumann auch mit Pauline Viardot-Garcia, einer gefeierten Sängerin ihrer Zeit, befreundet, die im Wohnzimmerkonzert heute von Malika Reyad vorgestellt wird.

Der heutige Tag der »Feminale der Musik« ist der Stadt Karlsruhe gewidmet. Dabei wird ein Radio-Feature von Clara Müller-Wirth mit dem Titel »Clara Schumann in Karlsruhe« veröffentlicht, das im Rahmen ihrer Bachelorthesis 2019/2020 an der Hochschule Karlsruhe für Technik und Wirtschaft und der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe entstanden ist. Clara Müller-Wirth berichtet darin von Clara Schumanns Auftritten in Karlsruhe und zitiert zeitgenössische Zeitungskritiken und Tagebuchnotizen Clara Schumanns. Die MusikwissenschaftlerInnen Beatrix Borchard und Joachim Draheim steuern Expertenwissen über Clara Schumann im Allgemeinen und über ihre Beziehung zu Karlsruhe bei.

Clara Müller-Wirth mit dem Radio-Feature »Clara Schumann in Karlsruhe«

Musikstücke

Stücke, die Clara Schumann in Karlsruhe häufig aufgeführt hat, sind beispielsweise »Liebeszauber« von Clara oder »Traumeswirren« von Robert Schumann. Auch Beethoven und Brahms hat sie oft gespielt. Brahms berühmtes Klavierquintett hat sie in Karlsruhe uraufgeführt, im Hause vom Karlsruher Hermann Levi.

Liebeszauber aus Sechs Lieder, Op. 13 #3, veröffentlicht durch und gesungen von Anne Wright (Sopran) begleitet von Brent Funderburk (Klavier). Aufgenommen live im Ravinia Steans Institute im August 2016

Robert Schumann: Fantasiestück Op.12 No. 7, veröffentlicht durch Max Lima: Martha Argerich (Klavier) spielt live am 29.01.2019 Fantasiestück »Traumes Wirren« im Rahmen eines Konzerts, das vom italienischen Sender Rai 5 aufgezeichnet wurde

Johannes Brahms Sonate in f-moll op. 34 b, aufgeführt von Clara Schumann am 6. November 1864 im Levis Haus, Karlsruhe und hier eine Aufnahme vom 06.02.2014 im Wolfgang-Rihm-Forum, Karlsruhe veröffentlicht durch und gespielt von Frank Dupree (Klavier) zusammen mit Maria Elisabeth Lott (Violine), Julian Fahrner (Violine), Hanna Schumacher (Viola) und Guillaume Terrail (Violoncello).

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival