Florence Beatrice Price

Feminale of Music

On display is a portrait of a woman.

Florence Beatrice Price is the first African-American musician to become known in the USA as a female composer of classical music and to have a symphony performed by one of the leading American orchestras.

Florence Beatrice Price is born on April 9, 1887 in Little Rock, Arkansas. She first appeared as a pianist at the age of four and published her first composition at eleven. She graduated from high school at the age of 14 and went on to study piano with Frederick S. Converse, organ with Henry M. Dunham and music theory with George Whitefield Chadwick at the New England Conservatory. There she was one of the few students to earn a bachelor's degree in two subjects, piano and organ. She then taught at various universities and colleges and finally moved to Chicago in 1927 due to racial unrest. It was after this move that Price's works were first edited by publishers, the G. Schirmer Verlag and McKinley Verlag. Through the performance of her Symphony No. 1 in E minor on June 15, 1933 at the Chicago World's Fair by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under the musical direction of Frederick Stock, Florence Beatrice Price became the first African-American composer to have a symphony performed by one of the leading American orchestras.

Price left behind a comprehensive oeuvre that includes songs, organ works, piano pieces as well as choral, chamber and orchestral works. A stylistic feature is that Price arranged Sprituals in several of her works.

Piano Concerto in One Movement released by Chamber Orchestra of the Springs and performed together with Dr. Karen Walwyn (piano), recorded at Ent Center for the Arts on 14.04.2019. 

String Quartet in G: slow movement published by and performed by Er-Gene Kahng (violin) together with Ryan Cockerham (violin), Tazonio Anderson (viola) and Patrick Bellah (cello), premiered at the University of Arkansas in January 2015. 

Concert Overture No. 2 released by Female Conductors: Jane Glover conducts the BBC Concert Orchestra recorded live on 08.03.2018.

Ethiopia's Shadow in America released by Elizabeth M: Daniel Blendulf conducts the BBC National Orchestra of Wales in 2015.

Excerpt from the film: The Caged Bird: The Life and Music of Florence B. Price.

Pianist Samantha Ege talks about Florence Price.

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020
Online

Florence Beatrice Price

Feminale der Musik

Zu sehen ist die Portraitaufnahme einer Frau.

Florence Beatrice Price ist die erste afroamerikanische Musikerin, die in den USA als Komponistin von klassischer Musik bekannt wurde und von der eine Sinfonie von einem der führenden amerikanischen Orchestern gespielt wurde. 

Florence Beatrice Price wurde am 9. April 1887 in Little Rock, Arkansas geboren. Sie trat schon im Alter von vier Jahren das erste Mal als Pianistin auf und veröffentlichte mit elf Jahren ihre erste Komposition. Bereits mit 14 Jahren graduierte sie an der Highschool, um anschließend am New England Conservatory Klavier bei Frederick S. Converse, Orgel bei Henry M. Dunham und Musiktheorie bei George Whitefield Chadwick zu studieren. Dort war sie eine der wenigen Studierenden, die in zwei Fächern einen Bachelor erlangte, und zwar sowohl im Fach Klavier als auch Orgel. Danach unterrichtete sie an verschiedenen Unversitäten und Colleges und zog schließlich aufgrund von Rassenunruhen 1927 nach Chicago. Nach eben jenem Umzug wurden Prices Werke erstmals von Verlagen, genauer gesagt dem G. Schirmer Verlag und McKinley Verlag, veröffentlicht. Durch die Aufführung ihrer Sinfonie Nr. 1 in e-moll am 15. Juni 1933 bei der Weltausstellung in Chicago vom Chicago Symphony Orchestra unter der musikalischen Leitung von Frederick Stock, wurde Florence Beatrice Price zur ersten afroamerikanischen Komponistin, von der eine Sinfonie von einem der führenden amerikanischen Orchestern gespielt wurde. 

Price hinterließ ein umfassendes Œuvre, welches Lieder, Orgelwerke, Klavierstücke sowie Chor-, Kammermusik- und Orchesterwerke beinhaltet. Ein stilistisches Merkmal ist, dass Price in etlichen Werken Sprituals arrangierte.

Musikstücke

Piano Concerto in One Movement veröffentlicht durch chamber Orchestra of the Springs und gespielt zusammen mit Dr. Karen Walwyn (Klavier), aufgenommen im Ent Center for the Arts am 14.04.2019. 

Streichquartett in G: langsamer Satz veröffentlicht durch und gespielt von Er-Gene Kahng (Violine) zusammen mit Ryan Cockerham (Violine), Tazonio Anderson (Viola) sowie Patrick Bellah (Cello), uraufgeführt an der Universität von Arkansas im Januar 2015. 

Concert Overture No. 2 veröffentlicht durch Female Conductors: Jane Glover dirigiert das BBC Concert Orchestra aufgenommen live am 08.03.2018.

Ethiopia’s Shadow in America veröffentlicht durch Elizabeth M: Daniel Blendulf dirigiert das BBC National Orchestra von Wales in 2015.

Ausschnitt aus dem Film: The Caged Bird: The Life and Music of Florence B. Price

Pianistin Samantha Ege spricht über Florence Price

Feminale der Musik

Live-Interview über die Komponistinnen Dora Pejačević und Florence Price sowie das Archiv Frau und Musik Frankfurt/Main mit Mary Ellen Kitchens

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival