Hugo Gernsback

Magazine collection

1920 - Science and invention - Vol. 8, No. 2

Hugo Gernsback (1884–1967), born in Luxembourg, whose family comes from Baden and who received his technical education in Bingen, emigrated to America in 1904. There he founded the modern genre of science fiction literature with the publication of magazines such as »Amazing Stories« (1926–1929) and »Wonder Stories« (1929–1936).
As one of its most important founders of the genre, Gernsback provided valuable inspiration for inventive and experimental work in the field of technology and had a significant influence on the youth interested in new inventions. The title of the exhibition »The Gernsback Prophecy«, which was shown at ZKM | Karlsruhe in 2013, refers to the multitude of his predictions on the future development and application of solar power plants, flat-screen TVs, or wireless telegraphy.
The eponym of the »Hugo Award«, which annually honors the best works of science fiction literature, made a decisive contribution to the popularization of electronic culture in America as a visionary. As editor and author of numerous science fiction magazines and a variety of generally understandable magazines and books on topics such as radio, television, (household) electronics, bionics, the conquest of space, automation and telematics, Gernsback was able to convey his enthusiasm and knowledge to numerous readers.

Hugo Gernsback's magazines in the years from 1908 onwards provided valuable inspiration for inventive and experimental work in the field of technology, especially in electrical engineering and radio and radio technology, which at that time was in its infancy. With these publications, he awakened the interest of an entire generation in technology and new inventions. For the cover pages and the various illustrations of his magazines he used outstanding artists and draftsmen. As the responsible editor, Hugo Gernsback has written numerous editorials, as well as articles and books.

The ZKM | Karlsruhe owns a collection of about 120 journals in the series »Science and invention«, »Practical electrics«, »Radio news«, »The experimenter«, »Amazing stories«, »Radio-craft«, and »Science and mechanics« from the years 1916 to 1948.

ZKM | Karlsruhe
Wissen – Collection, Archives and Research

Lorenzstraße 19
76135 Karlsruhe ​
Germany

Contact

ZKM | Archiv
Tel: +49 (0) 721/8100-1967
E-Mail: collection-and-archives@zkm.de

Image request
Tel: +49 (0) 721/8100-1967
E-Mail: imagerequest@zkm.de

Hugo Gernsback

Zeitschriftensammlung

1920 - Science and invention - Vol. 8, No. 2

Der in Luxemburg geborene Hugo Gernsback (1884–1967), dessen Familie aus dem Badischen stammt, und der seine technische Ausbildung in Bingen erhielt, wanderte 1904 nach Amerika aus. Dort begründete er mit der Herausgabe der Zeitschriften wie »Amazing Stories« (1926–1929) und »Wonder Stories« (1929–1936) das moderne Genre der Science-Fiction-Literatur. 
Als einer ihrer wichtigsten Begründer hat Gernsback wertvolle Anregungen für erfinderische und experimentelle Arbeiten im Bereich der Technik gegeben und die an neuen Erfindungen interessierte Jugend wesentlich beeinflusst. Der Titel der Ausstellung »Die Gernsback-Prophezeiung«, die 2013 am ZKM | Karlsruhe gezeigt wurde, rekurriert auf die Vielzahl seiner Voraussagen zur zukünftigen Entstehung und Anwendung von Sonnenkraftwerken, TV-Flachbildschirmen oder der drahtlosen Telegrafie.
Der Namensgeber des »Hugo Award«, der jährlich die besten Arbeiten der Science-Fiction-Literatur auszeichnet, leistete als Visionär einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Popularisierung der elektronischen Kultur in Amerika. Als Herausgeber und Autor zahlreicher Science-Fiction-Magazine und einer Vielzahl von allgemein verständlichen Zeitschriften und Büchern zu Themen wie Radio, Fernsehen, (Haushalts-)Elektronik, Bionik, Eroberung des Weltalls, Automation und Telematik konnte Gernsback seine Begeisterung und Kenntnisse zahlreichen LeserInnen vermitteln.

Hugo Gernsback hat mit seinen Magazinen in den Jahren von 1908 an wertvolle Anregungen für erfinderische und experimentelle Arbeiten im Bereich der Technik, hier vor allem in der Elektrik und der damals gerade im Entstehen begriffenen Funk- und Radiotechnik gegeben. Er weckte mit diesen Veröffentlichungen das Technikinteresse einer ganzen Generation. Für die Umschlagseiten und die verschiedenen Illustrationen seiner Magazine hat er herausragende Künstler und Zeichner eingesetzt. Als verantwortlicher Redakteur hat Hugo Gernsback zahlreiche Editorials verfasst, ebenso Artikel und Bücher.

Das ZKM | Karlsruhe besitzt eine Sammlung von ca. 120 Zeitschriften der Ausgabenreihen »Science and invention«, »Practical electrics«, »Radio news«, »The experimenter«, »Amazing stories«, »Radio-craft« und »Science and mechanics« aus den Jahren 1916 bis 1948.

ZKM | Karlsruhe
Wissen – Sammlung, Archive und Forschung

Lorenzstraße 19
76135 Karlsruhe ​
Deutschland

Kontakte

ZKM | Archiv
Tel: +49 (0) 721/8100-1967
E-Mail: sammlung-und-archive@zkm.de

Bildanfragen
Tel: +49 (0) 721/8100-1967
E-Mail: bildanfragen@zkm.de