Joanne Metcalf

Feminale of Music

A picture of the composer Joanne Metcalf.

The music of Joanne Metcalf, critically acclaimed as »music of great beauty« (Klassik-Heute) and »extraordinarily beautiful« (International Record Review), is known for its evocative lyricism, rhythmic extravagance, »beguiling yet subtly dissonant language« (MusicWeb International) and »beautiful use of vocal colours and texture« (Glasgow Herald).

Joanne Metcalf was born in 1958 in Los Angeles, USA and studied composition at Duke University with Scott Lindroth and Louis Andriessen at the Royal Conserbatory of Music in The Hague.

Drawing inspiration from Renaissance and medieval polyphony, ancient Georgian music, and contemporary extended vocal techniques, Ms. Metcalf has forged a compelling musical voice that »evoke[s] earlier musical forms« (The Globe and Mail, Montreal) yet is »unmistakably contemporary« (Glasgow Herald).

Ms. Metcalf’s compositions have been heard at the Cheltenham International Festival of Music, Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Schwetzinger Festspiele, Hannover Bienniale, Beethovenfest Bonn, York Festival of New Music, Washington National Cathedral, Glasgow Cathedral, and the Harvard Center for Italian Renaissance Studies.

Joanne Metcalf has received awards and fellowships from the North Carolina Arts Council, Copland House, the McDowell Colony, the Netherland-America Foundation, and the

International Association of Women in Music. She holds a Ph.D. from Duke University. Her compositions are recorded on the Linn Records, Oehms Classics, and ECM New Series labels and have been commissioned, performed, and recorded by leading musicians throughout the world.

Metcalf has received commissions from the Hilliard Ensemble and Singer Pur, Germany’s preeminent vocal ensemble, among others. This German vocal ensemble has recorded her wonderful compositions on CD several times, invited her to be Composer in Residence at their festival, bringing her music to many thousands of listeners together with the Hilliard Ensemble. Embedded in the article page are listening examples of the 10-voice cycle for Singer Pur with The Hilliard Ensemble »Il nome del bel fior« by Joanne Metcalf, awarded an ECHO Klassik. Furthermore, the next CD production of Singer Pur, as a cross-section through the centuries, will only contain compositions by women. The commitment of this vocal ensemble for female composers is also shown in the concert program »frauenkomponiert« that will take place on the International Women’s day postponed to 2021 at Predigerkirche Basel.

Music Pieces

Ego dilecto meo, published by and sung by the vocal ensemble Singer Pur, produced by Dieter Oehms from »Song Of Songs (The) – Settings From Different Centuries», 2006 Oehms Classics 

It Is Enough, released by and sung by the vocal ensemble Singer Pur from »Horizons«, 2019 Oehms Classics

Floating and Grooving for Solo Marimba, published by and played by Marco Schirripa at Tennessee Tech University on 12.04.2019

The Undreamt-of Center: Undreaming, Celestial Clockwork and Infinite Aftertime, published by and composed by Joanne Metcalf, played by Michael Mizrahi (piano)

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020

The ZKM honors female composers with a four-week digital festival

Joanne Metcalf

Feminale der Musik

Ein Foto der Komponistin Joanne Metcalf.

Die Musik von Joanne Metcalf, von der Kritik als »Musik von großer Schönheit« gefeiert (Klassik-Heute) und »außergewöhnlich schön« (International Record Review), ist bekannt für seine evokative Lyrik, rhythmische Extravaganz, »betörende und doch subtil dissonante Sprache« (MusicWeb International) und »schöne Verwendung von Stimmfarben und Textur« (Glasgow Herald).

Joanne Metcalf ist 1958 in Los Angeles, USA geboren und hat an der Duke University bei Scott Lindroth und Louis Andriessen am Royal Conserbatory of Music in Den Haag Komposition studiert.

Inspiriert von der Polyphonie der Renaissance und des Mittelalters, der alten georgischen Musik und zeitgenössischen erweiterten Vokaltechniken hat Frau Metcalf eine überzeugende musikalische Stimme geschmiedet, die »an frühere musikalische Formen erinnert« (The Globe and Mail, Montreal) und doch »unverkennbar zeitgenössisch« ist (Glasgow Herald).

Die Kompositionen von Frau Metcalf waren bereits beim Cheltenham International Festival of Music, beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, bei den Schwetzinger Festspielen, der Hannover Biennale, dem Beethovenfest Bonn, dem York Festival of New Music, der Washington National Cathedral, der Glasgow Cathedral und dem Harvard Center for Italian Renaissance Studies zu hören.

Joanne Metcalf hat vom North Carolina Arts Council Auszeichnungen und Stipendien erhalten, Copland House, die McDowell-Kolonie, die Niederländisch-Amerika-Stiftung und die Internationale Vereinigung von Frauen in der Musik. Sie hält einen Doktortitel der Duke University. Ihre Kompositionen sind bei den Labels Linn Records, Oehms Classics und ECM New Series erschienen und wurden von führenden Musikern in aller Welt in Auftrag gegeben, aufgeführt und aufgenommen.

Frau Metcalf erhielt u.a. Kompositionsaufträge vom Hilliard Ensemble und von Singer Pur, Deutschlands herausragendem Vokalensemble. Dieses deutsche Vokalensemble hat ihre wunderbaren Kompositionen mehrfach auf CD aufgenommen, sie als Composer in Residence zu ihrem Festival eingeladen und ihre Musik zusammen mit dem Hilliard Ensemble vielen Tausenden von Zuhörern nahe gebracht. Eingebettet in die Artikelseite sind Hörbeispiele des 10-stimmigen Zyklus für Singer Pur mit dem Hilliard Ensemble »Il nome del bel fior« von Joanne Metcalf, ausgezeichnet mit einem ECHO Klassik. Darüber hinaus wird die nächste CD-Produktion von Singer Pur, als Querschnitt durch die Jahrhunderte, nur Kompositionen von Frauen enthalten. Das Engagement dieses Vokalensembles für Komponistinnen zeigt sich auch im Konzertprogramm »frauenkomponiert«, das am auf 2021 verschobenen Internationalen Frauentag in der Predigerkirche Basel stattfinden wird.

Musikstücke

Ego dilecto meo, veröffentlicht durch und gesungen vom Vokalensemble Singer Pur, produziert von Dieter Oehms aus »Song Of Songs (The) – Settings From Different Centuries«, 2006 Oehms Classics

It Is Enough, veröffentlicht durch und gesungen vom Vokalensemble Singer Pur aus »Horizons«, 2019 Oehms Classics

Floating and Grooving für Solo Marimba, veröffentlicht durch und gespielt von Marco Schirripa an der Tennessee Tech University am 12.04.2019

The Undreamt-of Center: Undreaming, Celestial Clockwork und Infinite Aftertime, veröffentlicht durch und komponiert von Joanne Metcalf, gespielt von Michael Mizrahi (Klavier)

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival