Lea Bertucci

Feminale of Music

A photo of the musician Lea Bertucci playing the saxophone.

Lea Bertucci (*1984) is a composer, performer and sound designer whose work describes relationships between acoustic phenomena and biological resonance.

In addition to her performance practice with woodwind instruments, her work incorporates multi-channel speaker arrays, electroacoustic feedback, extended instrumental technique and tape collage. In recent years, her projects have expanded toward site-responsive and site-specific sonic investigations of architecture. Deeply experimental, her work is unafraid to subvert musical expectation. She describes her way of composing as the invented genre of four-dimensional composition. However, this description of Bertucci's holistic approach to playing and composing is to the point, as her approach does not only involve space and time, i.e. it does not only stimulate reflection on the sequence of musical events, but also on how the sounds correspond and behave with the respective characteristics of the spaces or how the position of the audience influences what is being heard.

Her discography includes a number of solo and collaborative releases on independent labels and in 2018, she released the critically acclaimed Metal Aether on NNA tapes. Lea is co-editor of the multi-volume artists book »The Tonebook«, a survey of graphic scores by contemporary composers, published on Inpatient Press. 

As a solo artist, she has performed extensively across the US and Europe with presenters such as The Museum of Modern Art New York, Blank Forms, Gagosian Gallery New York, Pioneer Works, The Kitchen, The Walker Museum, ISSUE Project Room,  Museo Reina Sofia, The Renaissance Society, Chicago, Sound of Stockholm Festival, and Unsound Festival, Krakow. She is a 2016 MacDowell Fellow in composition. In 2018, she received commissions from The American Composers’ Forum and the Levy Gorvy Gallery in New York. Her new album Acoustic Shadows was recently released on April 15, 2020 on SA Recordings.

Musik pieces

Lea Bertucci: Acoustic Shadows – Brass (excerpt) (2020)

Lea Bertucci: Patterns for Alto (2017) 

Lea Bertucci: The Cepheid Variations (2016)

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020

The ZKM honors female composers with a four-week digital festival

Lea Bertucci

Feminale der Musik

Ein Foto der Musikerin Lea Bertucci, die grade Saxofon spielt.

Lea Bertucci (*1984) ist eine Komponistin, Performerin und Sounddesignerin, deren Werk die Beziehungen zwischen akustischen Phänomenen und biologischer Resonanz beschreibt.

Zusätzlich zu ihrer Aufführungspraxis mit Holzblasinstrumenten umfasst ihre Arbeit Mehrkanal-Lautsprecheranordnungen, elektroakustische Rückkopplung, erweiterte Instrumentaltechnik und Bandcollage. In den letzten Jahren haben sich ihre Projekte in Richtung ortsbezogener und ortsspezifischer klanglicher Untersuchungen von Architektur erweitert. Ihre Arbeit ist zutiefst experimentell und scheut sich nicht, die musikalische Erwartung zu untergraben. Ihre Art des Komponierens bezeichnet sie selbst als das ausgedachte Genre der vierdimensionalen Komposition. Diese Beschreibung trifft Bertuccis ganzheitlichen Ansatz des Spielens und Komponierens auf den Punkt, ihr Ansatz bezieht nicht nur Raum und Zeit mit ein, regt also nicht nur zum Nachdenken über die Reihenfolge musikalischer Ereignisse an, sondern auch darüber, wie die Klänge mit den jeweiligen Eigenschaften der Räume korrespondieren oder wie die Position des Publikums das zu Hörende beeinflusst.

Ihre Diskographie umfasst eine Reihe von Solo- und Gemeinschaftsveröffentlichungen auf unabhängigen Labels, 2018 veröffentlichte sie den von der Kritik gefeierten »Metal Aether« auf dem Label NNA tapes. Lea ist Mitherausgeberin des mehrbändigen KünstlerInnenbuchs »The Tonebook«, einer Übersicht über grafische Partituren zeitgenössischer KomponistInnen, das bei Inpatient Press erschienen ist.

Als Solokünstlerin ist sie in den USA und in Europa bei Plattformen wie The Museum of Modern Art New York, Blank Forms, Gagosian Gallery New York, Pioneer Works, The Kitchen, The Walker Museum, ISSUE Project Room, Museo Reina Sofia, The Renaissance Society, Chicago, Sound of Stockholm Festival und dem Unsound Festival, Krakau aufgetreten. Sie erhielt 2016 das MacDowell-Stipendium für Komposition. Im Jahr 2018 erhielt sie Kompositionsaufträge von The American Composers' Forum und der Levy Gorvy Gallery in New York. Ihr neues Album »Acoustic Shadows« wurde am 15. April 2020 bei SA Recordings veröffentlicht.

Musikstücke

Lea Bertucci: Acoustic Shadows – Brass (excerpt) (2020)

Lea Bertucci: Patterns for Alto (2017) 

Lea Bertucci: The Cepheid Variations (2016)

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival