Rebecca Saunders

Feminale of Music

Photo of a woman with glasses and reddish hair, studying a sheet of music lying on a table.

»When I finished my studies in Edinburgh, a professor advised me to become a teacher. My desire to compose was completely incomprehensible to him. It was a shock. That was the first time that I really perceived the social conditions. Since then, things have changed, noticeably changed, even in classical music.« – Rebecca Saunders, interview with »DIE ZEIT«, 15.05.2019

Saunders was born on 19th December 1967 in London, today she lives and works in Berlin. She grew up in a family of musicians, she has pianists and organists as parents and grandparents, her father runs a choir, her sister is a jazz singer. Rebecca Saunders studies composition with Nigel Osborne at the University of Edinburgh and with Wolfgang Rihm at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe. In an interview with »ZEIT« she describes her encounter with Rihm as »extremely liberating«, as an encounter »with a completely different kind of music«. She gets to know a music in Germany in which it is not important to »write melodies«. Saunders, for example, is fascinated by »working sounds into a fabric in such a way that it is not possible to tell where they come from and where they are going«.

Rebecca Saunders composes a lot of chamber music, works for smaller and larger instrumental groups, up to symphony orchestras. One focus is »spatial music«, as is evident in her work »Chroma«, for example. Chroma is always adapted to the special spatiality of the respective concert hall, in which the musicians are not placed frontally opposite the audience, but are freely distributed in space, sometimes in several adjacent rooms. Chroma has thus developed over the course of ten years in different versions, also with a variable number of instrumentalists and different performance durations.

Among many other prizes that Rebecca Saunders has already received, she will be awarded the extremely prestigious »Ernst von Siemens Music Prize« in 2019, the first composer and second woman after violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter.

Music Pieces

Séverine Ballon performs »Solitude« (2013) by Rebecca Saunders

Still for solo violin and orchestra, jointly commissioned by Beethovenfest Bonn and BBC Radio 3 published by Contemporary Classical: first performed at the Beethoven Festival 2011 in Bonn by Carolin Widmann and the BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sylvain Cambreling. Here the UK premiere with the same actors conducted by Lionel Bringuier.

Skin, published by and performed by Juliet Fraser together with the Ensemble Klangforum Wien, conducted by Titus Engel as part of the Donaueschinger Musiktage 2016, CD recording with support of SWR2 and SWR Classic, 2018 NEOS Music

Dust – Module 1 (of 8) (2017/18), recorded and released by Ensemble Musikfabrik as »Lockdown Tape #3«, played by Dirk Rothbrust (drums), on 21.04.2020 

Dust – Module 5/3/4 (of 8) (2017/18), recorded and released by Ensemble Musikfabrik as »Lockdown Tape #4«, played by Dirk Rothbrust (drums), on 24.04.2020 

Talk

Rebecca Saunders talks about her new work »Yes« which premiered at HCMF by Ensemble Musikfabrik, published 2018 by Uni of Huddersfield News & Research. Professor Aaron Cassidy, Director of the Centre for Research in New Music (CeReNeM) at the University of Huddersfield, leads the interview and asks Professor Saunders about her general inspirations and working methods in her music.

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020

The ZKM honors female composers with a four-week digital festival

Rebecca Saunders

Feminale der Musik

Foto einer Frau mit Brille und rötlichen Haaren, sie studiert ein Notenblatt, dass auf einem Tisch liegt.

»Als ich in Edinburgh mit dem Studium fertig war, riet mir ein Professor, Lehrerin zu werden. Mein Wunsch, zu komponieren, war ihm völlig unverständlich. Das war ein Schock. Da habe ich die gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse zum ersten Mal richtig wahrgenommen. Seither haben sich die Dinge verändert, spürbar verändert, sogar in der klassischen Musik.« – Rebecca Saunders, im Interview mit »DIE ZEIT« (15.05.2019)

Saunders wird am 19. Dezember 1967 in London geboren, heute lebt und arbeitet sie in Berlin. Rebecca Saunders wächst in einer Musikerfamilie auf, sie hat Pianisten und Organisten als Eltern und Großeltern, der Vater leitet einen Chor, die Schwester ist Jazzsängerin. Rebecca Saunders studiert Komposition bei Nigel Osborne an der University of Edinburgh sowie bei Wolfgang Rihm an der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe. Im Interview mit der »ZEIT« beschreibt sie ihre Begegnung mit Rihm als »extrem befreiend«, als Begegnung »mit einer ganz anderen Art von Musik«. Sie lernt in Deutschland eine Musik kennen, in der es nicht wichtig ist, »Melodien zu schreiben«. Saunders ist zum Beispiel fasziniert davon, »Klänge so in ein Gewebe einzuarbeiten, dass nicht erkennbar ist, wo sie herkommen und wo sie hingehen«.

Rebecca Saunders komponiert viel Kammermusik, Werke für kleinere und größere Instrumentalgruppen, bis hin zum Sinfonieorchester. Ein Schwerpunkt ist »räumliche Musik«, wie es beispielsweise in ihrem Werk »Chroma« deutlich wird. Chroma wird immer wieder angepasst an die spezielle Räumlichkeit des jeweiligen Konzertsaals, in dem die MusikerInnen nicht frontal dem Publikum gegenüber platziert sind, sondern frei im Raum verteilt, manchmal auch in mehreren benachbarten Räumen. Chroma hat sich dadurch im Lauf von zehn Jahren in unterschiedlichen Versionen immer weiter entwickelt, auch mit veränderlicher Anzahl an InstrumentalistInnen und unterschiedlichen Aufführungsdauern.

Neben vielen anderen Preisen, die Rebecca Saunders bereits erhalten hat, wird sie 2019 mit dem äußerst renommierten »Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis« ausgezeichnet, als erste Komponistin und als zweite Frau nach der Geigerin Anne-Sophie Mutter.

Musikstücke

Séverine Ballon spielt »Solitude« (2013) von Rebecca Saunders

Still für Solovioline und Orchester, gemeinsamer Auftrag von Beethovenfest Bonn und BBC Radio 3 veröffentlicht durch Contemporary Classical: Zuerst aufgeführt auf dem dem Beethoven Festival 2011 in Bonn durch Carolin Widmann und dem BBC Symphony Orchestra dirigiert von Sylvain Cambreling. Hier die UK Premiere mit den gleichen Akteuren, dirigiert von Lionel Bringuier.

Skin, veröffentlicht durch und gespielt von Juliet Fraser zusammen mit dem Ensemble Klangforum Wien, dirigiert von Titus Engel im Rahmen der Donaueschinger Musiktage 2016, CD-Aufnahme mit Unterstützung vom SWR2 und SWR Classic, 2018 NEOS Music

Dust – Modul 1 (von 8) (2017/18), aufgenommen und veröffentlicht von Ensemble Musikfabrik als »Lockdown Tape #3«, gespielt von Dirk Rothbrust (Schlagzeug), am 21.4.2020

Dust – Module 5/3/4 (von 8) (2017/18), aufgenommen und veröffentlicht von Ensemble Musikfabrik als »Lockdown Tape #4«, gespielt von Dirk Rothbrust (Schlagzeug), am 24.04.2020

Interview

Rebecca Saunders talks about her new work »Yes« which premiered at HCMF by Ensemble Musikfabrik, veröffentlicht 2018 durch Uni of Huddersfield News & Research. Professor Aaron Cassidy, Direktor des Centre for Research in New Music (CeReNeM) der Universität Huddersfield, leitet das Interview und befragt Professor Saunders zu ihren allgemeinen Inspirationen und Arbeitsmethoden in ihrer Musik.

Gespräch

Rebecca Saunders im Gespräch mit Cornelie Kunkat, Leiterin des Projektbüro »Frauen in Kultur und Medien« des Deutschen Kulturrat: »Als Frau werde ich ständig an mein Anderssein erinnert«

Feminale der Musik

Live-Interview mit der Komponistin Rebecca Saunders, ebenfalls zu Gast die Cellistin Séverine Ballon

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival