Francesca Caccini

Feminale of Music

Renaissance painting of a lady in red and blue

Francesca Caccini was not only a composer but also a talented singer. This is why she has earned the nickname »La Cecchina« (the songbird).

She was born in Florence on September 18, 1587 and, according to the accounts of her father Giulio Caccini, had already published three volumes of 300 songs at the beginning of the 17th century. Queen Maria de Medici sent the Caccini family on a concert tour to the court of Henry IV in Paris for ten months. The five-part family ensemble makes stopovers in Modena, Milan, Turin and Lyon. She plays harpsichord, lute and guitar and often accompanies herself. In Paris Francesca Caccini was offered a permanent position, but at the behest of Grand Duke Ferdinando I de' Medici she had to return with her family to Florence, then one of the most important cultural centers. There she was employed until 1627 at the court of the Medici, where her reputation was so great that by 1618 she was already one of the most important and best-paid musicians.

After the performance of her first stage work »La Stiava« in 1607, seven further performances of compositions, which she wrote mainly for the carnival in Florence, followed until 1625. Only a few works by Caccini have survived to this day: »Il primo libro delle musiche a una e due voce« and the ballet opera »La liberazione di Ruggiero dall'isola d'Alcina«. As part of the international women composers' festival in Cologne, which was organised by the conductor and music historian Elke Mascha Blankenburg (1943–2013) despite resistance from male colleagues, this opera was performed again for the first time in 1980 in a sensational way. It is considered the earliest known opera by a female composer.

Compositions

Lasciatemi qui solo, released by Ars Lyrica Houston 2017, video and audio produced by Runaway Productions LLC, recorded on 12/11/2017, Zilkha Hall / Hobby Center For The Performing Arts. This musical performance features a trio of exceptional Houston singers accompanied by a colorful continuo band with violins, cello, baroque harp, theorbo and harpsichord.

O chiome belle (Oh beautiful hair, canzonetta), published by The Orchard Enterprises on 09.03.2010: Shannon Mercer, Luc Beauséjour, Sylvain Bergeron, Amanda Keesmaat from »Francesca Caccini: O Viva Rosa«

La liberazione di Ruggiero dall'isola d'Alcina, published by Ondine Productions, Sydney: Excerpts from the footage taken during the dress rehearsal on July 28, 2012 by Thijs Rozeboom at the Parade Theaters, Kensington, Sydney. Musicians: Tommie Andersson, Helen Byrne, Angus Ryan, Gamba-Fiona Ziegler, Gamba-Cathy Upex, Tara Hashambhoy, Alicia Crossley, Alana Blackburn, Steven Machamer, Prue Gibbs, Diana Weston

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020
Online

Francesca Caccini

Feminale der Musik

Renaissance-Gemälde einer Dame in Rot und Blau

Francesca Caccini war nicht nur Komponistin, sondern auch eine begabte Sängerin. Deshalb erhielt sie den Kosenamen »La Cecchina« (der Singvogel).

Sie ist am 18. September 1587 in Florenz geboren und hatte bereits laut den Berichten ihres Vater Giulio Caccini Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts drei Bände mit 300 Gesangsstücken publiziert. Königin Maria de Medici schickt die Familie Caccini für zehn Monate auf eine Konzertreise an den Hof Heinrichs IV. nach Paris. Das fünfstimmige Familienensemble macht Zwischenstopps in Modena, Mailand, Turin und Lyon. Caccini spielt Cembalo, Laute und Gitarre. Oft begleitet sie sich selbst. In Paris wird Francesca Caccini eine Daueranstellung angeboten, sie muss aber auf Geheiß von Großherzog Ferdinando I. de’ Medici mit ihrer Familie zurück nach Florenz. Dort ist sie bis 1627 am Hof der Medici angestellt, wo ihr Ansehen so groß ist, dass sie bereits 1618 zu den wichtigsten und bestbezahlten MusikerInnen zählt.

Nach der Aufführung ihres ersten Bühnenwerks »La Stiava« im Jahr 1607, folgen im Anschluss bis 1625 sieben weitere Aufführungen von Kompositionen, die sie vor allem für den Karneval in Florenz geschrieben hat. Nur wenige Werke von Caccini sind bis heute erhalten geblieben: »Il primo libro delle musiche a una e due voce«, Florenz, Zanobi Pignoni (1618) und die Ballettoper »La liberazione di Ruggiero dall’isola d’Alcina«, Florenz, Pietro Cecconcelli (1625). Im Rahmen des internationalen Komponistinnen-Festivals in Köln, das die Dirigentin und Musikhistorikerin Elke Mascha Blankenburg (1943–2013) trotz Widerstände männlicher Kollegen organisiert, wird 1980 zum ersten Mal diese Oper auf sensationelle Weise wieder aufgeführt. Sie gilt als früheste bekannte Oper einer Komponistin.

Musikstücke 

Lasciatemi qui solo, veröffentlicht durch Ars Lyrica Houston 2017, Video und Audio produziert von Runaway Productions LLC, aufgenommen am 12.11.2017, Zilkha Hall / Hobby Center For The Performing Arts. Diese musikalische Darbietung beleuchtet ein Trio außergewöhnlicher Sänger aus Houston in Begleitung einer bunten Continuo-Band mit Geigen, Cello, Barockharfe, Theorbe und Cembalo.

O chiome belle (Oh beautiful hair, canzonetta), veröffentlicht durch The Orchard Enterprises am 09.03.2010: Shannon Mercer, Luc Beauséjour, Sylvain Bergeron, Amanda Keesmaat aus »Francesca Caccini: O Viva Rosa«

La liberazione di Ruggiero dall'isola d'Alcina, veröffentlicht durch Ondine Productions, Sydney: Auszüge aus dem Filmmaterial, das bei der Generalprobe am 28.07.2012 von Thijs Rozeboom in den Parade Theaters, Kensington, Sydney, aufgenommen wurde. MusikerInnen: Tommie Andersson, Helen Byrne, Angus Ryan, Gambe-Fiona Ziegler, Gambe-Cathy Upex, Tara Hashambhoy, Alicia Crossley, Alana Blackburn, Steven Machamer, Prue Gibbs, Diana Weston

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival