Hildur Ingveldardóttir Guðnadóttir

Feminale of Music

Photo of the composer Hildur Guðnadóttir

Hildur Guðnadóttir evades labelling and ignores traditional genus boundaries. For years she has been experimenting with computer-aided processing of cello sounds and new playing techniques. However, when critics are tempted to categorize her music »[...] somewhere between Arvo Pärt, Brian Eno and drone metal.«

Hildur Guðnadóttir was born on September 4, 1982 in Reykjavik, Iceland. Today she lives and works in Berlin. Hildur Guðnadóttir began playing the cello at the age of five. Later she studied cello, electroacoustics and composition and new media at the Icelandic Academy of Arts and the Berlin University of the Arts. After her stay in Berlin, she first went back to Iceland to engage in the younger art and music scene there. Here she is active in various projects, for example she plays in the bands Múm and Angel. Furthermore, together with Jóhann Jóhannsson »Kitchen Motors« she runs a fusion of label, think tank and artist collective. In 2007 she releases her debut album »Mount A« under the name »Lost in Hildurness« on the Icelandic label 12tónar, followed by her second album »Without Sinking« in 2009 and »Leyfðu Ljósinu« (2012) and »Saman« (2014) on the British label Touch. She is now under exclusive contract with Deutsche Grammophon.

Since 2011 she has also been working as a composer for various film and television productions. Particularly noteworthy are the soundtracks for Sicario 2 (original title Sicario: Day of the Soldado) and Joker as well as for the HBO series Chernobyl. For Chernobyl she received the 2019 Emmy and Grammy in the category »Best Composed Soundtrack for Visual Media«, making her the only single woman to date to receive an award in this category. For the soundtrack of Chernobyl, Guðnadóttir went to a Lithuanian nuclear power plant to record sounds and noises, which she later processed. She herself calls this »fact-based music«.

The music for Joker was awarded an Oscar at the Academy Awards 2020 for »Best Film Music«, which hasn't been awarded to a woman in 20 years. At the Golden Globes she was honored in the category »Best Original Music (Film)«. This makes her the first woman to win a Golden Globe since the category was introduced in 1947.

Music Pieces

Composition for halldorophone#5, published, conceived and edited by Halldor Ulfarsson: Composed and performed live by Hildur Guðnadóttir at the FAIR Residence in Copenhagen 2009, curated by Stine Hebert, filmed at Fabrikken for Art and Design and Frederiksborg; Sophia Olson (cinematography), Sylvester Holm (live sound recording)

Unveiled, released by and composed by Hildur Guðnadóttir from the album »Without Sinking«. Artists: Hildur Guðnadóttir, Skuli Sverrisson, Guðni Franzson, 2009 Touch, under exclusive license from Deutsche Grammophon GmbH, Berlin

Bridge Of Death (from the soundtrack of the TV series »Chernobyl«), released by and composed by Hildur Guðnadóttir, 2019 HBO, under exclusive license from Deutsche Grammophon GmbH, Berlin

Call Me Joker, released by WaterTower Music from the original soundtrack of »Joker«

Talk

The »Chernobyl« composer created a whole haunting composition of real power plant sounds published by Epicleff Media: Hildur Guðnadóttir explains her unique process of creating the entire score of the HBO mini-series from sounds she and her team recorded in a real power plant in Lithuania.

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020

The ZKM honors female composers with a four-week digital festival

Hildur Ingveldardóttir Guðnadóttir

Feminale der Musik

Foto der Komponistin Hildur Guðnadóttir

Hildur Guðnadóttir entzieht sich einer Etikettierung und ignoriert traditionelle Gattungsgrenzen. Seit Jahren experimentiert sie mit der computergestützten Bearbeitung von Celloklängen und neuen Spieltechniken. Wenn KritikerInnen sich dennoch zu einer Kategorisierung hinreißen lassen, verorten sie ihre Musik »[...] irgendwo zwischen Arvo Pärt, Brian Eno und Drone-Metal.«

Die Komponistin wird am 4. September 1982 in Reykjavik, Island geboren. Heute lebt und arbeitet sie in Berlin. Mit fünf Jahren beginnt Hildur Guðnadóttir Cello zu spielen. Später studiert sie Cello, Elektroakustik und Komposition und Neue Medien an der Kunstakademie Islands und der Universität der Künste Berlin. Nach ihrem Aufenthalt in Berlin geht sie zunächst zurück nach Island, um sich dort in der jüngeren Kunst- und Musikszene zu engagieren. Hier ist sie in verschiedenen Projekten aktiv, beispielsweise spielt sie in den Bands Múm und Angel. Des Weiteren betreibt sie zusammen mit Jóhann Jóhannsson »Kitchen Motors« eine Fusion aus Label, Think Tank und KünstlerInnenkollektiv. 2007 bringt sie unter dem Namen »Lost in Hildurness« ihr Debütalbum »Mount A« auf dem isländischen Label 12tónar heraus, 2009 folgt das zweite Album »Without Sinking« sowie »Leyfðu Ljósinu« (2012) und »Saman« (2014) auf dem britischen Label Touch. Mittlerweile steht sie bei Deutsche Grammophone exklusiv unter Vertrag.

Seit 2011 ist sie auch als Komponistin für verschiedene Film- und Fernsehproduktionen tätig. Besonders hervorzuheben sind hierbei die Soundtracks für Sicario 2 (Originaltitel Sicario: Day of the Soldado) und Joker sowie für die HBO-Serie Chernobyl. Für Chernobyl erhielt sie 2019 den Emmy und den Grammy in der Kategorie »Bester komponierter Soundtrack für visuelle Medien«, womit sie die bisher einzige einzelne Frau ist, welche in dieser Kategorie ausgezeichnet wurde. Für die Filmmusik von Chernobyl ging Guðnadóttir in ein litauisches Atomkraftwerk, um dort Geräusche und Klänge aufzunehmen, welche sie später verarbeitete. Sie selbst nennt dies »faktenbasierte Musik«.

Die Musik für Joker wurde bei den Academy Awards 2020 für die »Beste Filmmusik« mit einem Oscar gewürdigt, welcher seit 20 Jahren an keine Frau mehr verliehen wurde. Bei den Golden Globes wurde sie in der Sparte »Beste Originalmusik (Film)« ausgezeichnet. Somit ist sie die erste Frau, die einen Golden Globe gewann, seit Einführung der Kategorie 1947.

Musikstücke

Composition for halldorophone#5, veröffentlicht, konzipiert und editiert durch Halldor Ulfarsson: Komponiert und live gespielt von Hildur Guðnadóttir bei der FAIR Residenz in Kopenhagen 2009, kuratiert von Stine Hebert, gefilmt in Fabrikken für Kunst og Design sowie Frederiksborg; Sophia Olson (Kinematographie), Sylvester Holm (live Tonaufnahme)

Unveiled, veröffentlicht durch und komponiert von Hildur Guðnadóttir aus dem Album »Without Sinking«. KünstlerInnen: Hildur Guðnadóttir, Skuli Sverrisson, Guðni Franzson, 2009 Touch, unter exklusiver Lizenz der Deutschen Grammophon GmbH, Berlin

Bridge Of Death (aus dem Soundtrack der TV-Serie »Chernobyl«), veröffentlicht durch und komponiert von Hildur Guðnadóttir, 2019 HBO, unter exklusiver Lizenz der Deutschen Grammophon GmbH, Berlin

Call Me Joker, veröffentlicht durch WaterTower Music aus dem Originalsoundtrack von »Joker«

Gespräch

Die »Tschernobyl«-Komponistin schuf eine eindringliche Partitur aus echten Kraftwerksklängen veröffentlicht durch Epicleff Media: Hildur Guðnadóttir erklärt ihren einzigartigen Prozess, die gesamte Partitur der HBO-Miniserie aus Klängen zu erstellen, die sie und ihr Team in einem echten Kraftwerk in Litauen aufgenommen haben.

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival