Intelligent Museum Residency

at the ZKM | Hertz-Lab and the Deutsches Museum

As part of »The Intelligent Museum,« a variety of approaches to AI-powered digital art will be used to critically examine and explore the socially relevant topic of AI from a variety of perspectives.

In an open call, artists were able to submit innovative project proposals at the interface of art and AI until the beginning of March, which they will implement as part of an artist residency at the ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe and at the Deutsches Museum.

Based on various evaluation criteria, a jury finally selected four international project proposals by Maria Smigielska and Pierre Cutellic, Katrin Hochschuh and Adam DonovanGaëtan Robillard and Giselle Beiguelman, Bruno Moreschi and Bernardo Fontes. From summer 2021, the projects will be implemented.

ABOUT THE PROJECT: THE INTELLIGENT MUSEUM

Proteus 3.0: Behaviorally controlled Video Installation

How can human and artificial intelligence be merged within an installation? The artist duo Maria Smigielska and Pierre Cutellic, alias Compmonks, would like to explore this question by means of an interactive video installation. Body pose, gaze direction and facial expression of the viewers are the basis for deep learning models and influence the image of a constantly changing ferrofluid.

Portrait of Pierre Cutellic
Portrait of Maria Smigielska

Empathic Swarm: Reward and Punishment

50 autonomous robots act as a swarm and react to positive and negative feedback from their environment. Within their artistic work Katrin Hochschuh and Adam Donovan are particularly interested in human-machine interaction. As part of the residency, they want to fill their system with life and investigate different scenarios. How does the artificial intelligence of the swarm learn and what influence do the various interests of its human mentors have? 

Portrait of Katrin Hochschuh & Adam Donovan

Patterns of Heat

On the Internet, statements about climate change are spreading at breakneck speed – but not all of them are scientifically founded. As part of his residency, Gaëtan Robillard is developing new software for a data driven installation made that quantifies false reports. The amount of false news about climate change on social media found by the artificial intelligence, corresponds to the heat the installation generates. Thermal imaging cameras show these temperature changes in space. 

Portrait of Gaëtan Robillard

What does Artificial Intelligence see?

Are colonialist gestures reflected in human images and is computer vision technology capable of recognizing colonialist patterns? Using three Brazilian collections, Giselle Beiguelman, Bruno Moreschi and Bernardo Fontes want to find out how they are processed by AI technologies. The project aims to shed light on how AI can interpret digitized images and be used to analyze image collections. 

Portrait of Giselle Beiguelman
Portrait of Bruno Moreschi
Portrait of Bernardo Pontes

Within the framework of

In cooperation with

Intelligent Museum Residency

am ZKM | Hertz-Labor und dem Deutschen Museum

Im Rahmen von »Das intelligente Museum« soll mittels verschiedenartiger Ansätze KI-gestützter digitaler Kunst das gesellschaftsrelevante Thema der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven kritisch beleuchtet und untersucht werden.

In einem Open Call konnten Künstler:innen bis Anfang März innovative Projektvorschläge an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und KI einreichen, die sie im Rahmen einer Artist Residency am ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe und am Deutschen Museum umsetzen.
 
Auf der Grundlage verschiedener Bewertungskriterien wählte eine Jury schließlich vier internationale Projektvorschläge von Maria Smigielska und Pierre CutellicKatrin Hochschuh und Adam DonovanGaëtan Robillard und Giselle Beiguelman, Bruno Moreschi und Bernardo Fontes aus. Diese sollen ab Sommer 2021 realisiert werden.  

Zum Projekt: Das intelligente Museum

Proteus 3.0: verhaltensgesteuerte Videoinstallation

Wie lassen sich menschliche und künstliche Intelligenz in einer Installation vereinen? Dieser Frage möchte das Künstler:innenduo Maria Smigielska und Pierre Cutellic, alias Compmonks, anhand einer interaktiven Videoinstallation nachgehen. Körperpose, Blickrichtung und Gesichtsausdruck der Betrachtenden sind die Grundlage für Deep-Learning-Modelle und beeinflussen die Abbildung eines sich stetig verändernden Ferrofluids.

Portrait von Pierre Cutellic
Portrait von Maria Smigielska

Empathischer Schwarm: Belohnung und Bestrafung

50 autonome Roboter agieren als Schwarm und reagieren auf positive und negative Rückmeldungen aus ihrem Umfeld. Katrin Hochschuh und Adam Donovan interessieren sich in dieser künstlerischen Arbeit besonders für die Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion. Im Rahmen der Residency wollen sie ihrem System Leben einhauchen und unterschiedliche Szenarien untersuchen. Wie lernt die künstliche Intelligenz des Schwarms und welchen Einfluss nehmen die unterschiedlichsten Interessen seiner menschlichen Mentor:innen? 

Portrait von Katrin Hochschuh & Adam Donovan

Patterns of Heat

Im Internet verbreiten sich Aussagen über den Klimawandel in rasender Geschwindigkeit – nicht alle sind jedoch wissenschaftlich fundiert. Gaëtan Robillard entwickelt im Rahmen seiner Residency eine neue Software für eine datengetriebene Installation die Falschmeldungen quantifiziert. Je mehr Unwahrheiten die künstliche Intelligenz zum Klimawandel in Social Media findet, umso mehr Wärme sondert sie ab. Wärmebildkameras zeigen diese Temperaturänderungen im Raum.

Portrait von Gaëtan Robillard

Was sieht die Künstliche Intelligenz?

Spiegeln sich kolonialistische Gesten in menschlichen Abbildungen wider und ist die Technologie des maschinellen Sehens (Computer Vision) dazu im Stande kolonialistische Muster zu erkennen? Anhand dreier brasilianischer Sammlungen möchten Giselle Beiguelman, Bruno Moreschi und Bernardo Fontes herausfinden, wie diese von KI-Technologien verarbeitet werden. Das Projekt soll Aufschluss geben, wie KI digitalisierte Bilder interpretiert und für die Analyse von Bildersammlungen instrumentalisiert werden kann.

Portrait von Giselle Beiguelman
Portrait von Bruno Moreschi
Portrait von Bernardo Fontes

In Kooperation mit