Jiyun Park

Feminale of Music

Portait of the artist Jiyun Park during a Performance

Through experimentation with different kinds of materials Jiyun Park explores sensory and synaesthetic states in search of hidden and inherent sounds, spatial sound, and performances.

Jiyun Park is a sound artist and composer based in Germany. She was born on August 8, 1990 in South Korea. After academic training in Multimedia Design at the Hanyang University in South Korea, she went on to explore Media Art at the Academy of Media Art in Cologne, Germany. There, she developed an approach to sound that is informed by electronics, voice and self-built instruments or synthesizers.

Her works are mostly influenced by crossing the threshold of space and time in her surroundings. She is actively doing collaboration performances to expand her frame, also for example in communicating via data, and human-sonic interaction.

Jiyun Park is actively engaged and performing widely within the experimental music scene of the city of Cologne. Furthermore, she played at international festivals like the NIME conference, the Murmurans Mundus conference in the Czech city Ústí nad Labem, as well as in experimental spaces like Rotterdams notorious hotbed of creativity WORM or the Austrian project space Tresor in Linz. Once before she performed already at the ZKM, as participant in the biennial high-school conference »next_generation« organised by the ZKM | Hertz-Lab.

Jiyun Park is the last and also youngest composer presented in the framework of the FEMINALE OF MUSIC, the digital festival that honors female composers from the 17th century until today. We look forward to the further development of her career.

Music Pieces

Self built Instrument, Sound Performance (2017) 15’57’’

A Copper Schnitzel, Sound Performance (2017), excerpt

Invisible Indicator (2019) 4-Channel Audio Performance, 30’

This piece is composed of field recordings and electronic effects to design a spaces and personal experience at middle of massive nature. Especially it is drafted of recordings from Iceland. This piece has own narrative and lead audience to be in spaces which can be a virtuality or reality / Inner or outer sound. It comes up with an experience of the artist, when she faced a perfect isolation, harsh environment and death by nature.

Author: Jiyun Park

Indifference (2019), Audio, 30’

This piece experiments with the idea of (vocal) transmission. The artist records herself listening to a selection of spoken languages, while simultaneously imitating them. Through the instantaneous reproduction of the heard syllables, their particular intonations and pronunciation, the tie between sonic and verbal expression loosens and eventually fully diminishes. In order to focus on the sounds and tonality of speech and to distance herself from meaning, foreign languages that are unknown to the artist have been chosen. The work is released as a book and CD – EQUIVOCATION, which includes experimental notations by different artists.

Author: Jiyun Park

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020

The ZKM honors female composers with a four-week digital festival

Jiyun Park

Feminale der Musik

Portait der Künstlerin Jiyun Park während einer Performance

Durch das Experimentieren mit verschiedenen Arten von Materialien erforscht Jiyun Park sensorische und synästhetische Zustände, auf der Suche nach verborgenen und inhärenten Klängen, Raumklang und Performances.

Jiyun Park ist eine Klangkünstlerin und Komponistin mit Sitz in Köln. Sie wurde am 8. August 1990 in Südkorea geboren. Nach ihrer akademischen Ausbildung in Multimediadesign an der Hanyang Universität in Südkorea vertiefte sie ihre Auseinandersetzung mit Medienkunst an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln. Dort entwickelte sie einen Umgang mit Klang, der von Elektronik, Stimme sowie selbstgebauten Instrumenten und Synthesizern geprägt ist.

Ihre stark performativen Werke kennzeichnen sich durch Grenzgänge im Bezug auf Raum und Zeit. Dazu initiiert sie auch Kooperations-Performances, die oft mittels Daten oder über eine Mensch-Klang-Interaktion kommunizieren.

Jiyun Park ist in der experimentellen Musikszene der Stadt Köln aktiv und ist dort regelmäßig in Konzerten und mit Performances präsent. Darüber hinaus spielte sie auf internationalen Festivals wie der NIME-Konferenz, der Murmurans Mundus-Konferenz in der tschechischen Stadt Ústí nad Labem, sowie in experimentellen Räumen wie Rotterdams berüchtigter Kreativitätsschmiede WORM oder dem österreichischen Projektraum Tresor in Linz. Schon einmal trat sie im ZKM auf, als Teilnehmerin an der alle zwei Jahre stattfindenden Hochschulkonferenz »next_generation«, die vom ZKM | Hertz-Labor organisiert wird.

Jiyun Park ist die letzte und zugleich jüngste Komponistin, die im Rahmen der FEMINALE DER MUSIK präsentiert wird, dem digitalen Festival das Komponistinnen vom 17. Jahrhundert bis heute ehrt. Wir blicken mit Spannung auf die weitere Entwicklung ihrer Karriere.

Musikstücke

Self built Instrument, Sound Performance (2017) 15’57’’

A Copper Schnitzel, Sound Performance (2017) Ausschnitt

Invisible Indicator (2019) 4-Kanal Audio Performance, 30’

Dieses Stück setzt sich aus Feldaufnahmen und elektronischen Effekten zusammen, um einen Raum und eine persönliche Erfahrung mitten in der massiven Natur zu gestalten. Insbesondere ist es aus Aufnahmen aus Island entstanden. Das Stück hat eine eigene Erzählung und führt den Zuhörer in Räume, die eine Virtualität oder Wirklichkeit / Innen- oder Außenklang sein können. Es handelt sich um eine Erfahrung der Künstlerin, als sie einer perfekten Isolation, einer rauen Umgebung und dem Tod durch die Natur gegenüberstand. 

AutorIn: Jiyun Park

Indifference (2019), Audio, 30’

Dieses Stück experimentiert mit der Idee der (stimmlichen) Übertragung. Die Künstlerin zeichnet sich selbst beim Hören einer Auswahl von gesprochenen Sprachen auf, während sie diese gleichzeitig imitiert. Durch die augenblickliche Wiedergabe der gehörten Silben, ihrer besonderen Intonation und Aussprache löst sich die Verbindung zwischen klanglichem und verbalem Ausdruck und nimmt schließlich ganz ab. Um sich auf den Klang und die Tonalität der Sprache zu konzentrieren und um sich von der Bedeutung zu distanzieren, wurden Fremdsprachen gewählt, die der Künstlerin unbekannt sind. Das Werk erscheint als Buch und CD – EQUIVOCATION, die experimentelle Notationen von verschiedenen Künstlern enthält.

AutorIn: Jiyun Park

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival