Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre

Feminale of Music

A baroque painting by the composer Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre

The Composer Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre is described as the »miracle of our century« in the Musicalisches Lexicon of 1732. »It can be said that never a person of her gender possessed such great talent for musical composition and for the admirable way in which she played the harpsichord and the organ.« – Edouard Titon du Tillet.

Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre was born in Paris in March 1665 as the daughter of an organist and harpsichord teacher. The parents' aim is to turn their children into professional musicians. In doing so, they are following the family tradition that has produced musicians for several generations. The investment in a solid musical education pays off. Their daughter Elisabeth is pursuing a musical career like her other siblings. Already at the age of five she plays in front of King Louis XIV, who from then on not only supports her financially, but also allows her to perform her works later. In the Musicalisches Lexicon of 1732 the editor Johann Gottfried Walther, music writer and composer, speaks of the »miracle of our century«.

As a virtuoso as well as a composer, she became known and recognized during her lifetime. The opera »Céphale et Procris«, a tragédie-lyrique with prologue and five acts, is the first opera ever performed by a French female composer at the Opéra Paris.

Her father died in 1702, only two years later both her husband and her son, after which she retired from society and gave almost exclusively house concerts. The audience is made up of the upper class due to the high quality of her musical work. Composers and musicians are also among the guests to present new works. She died in Paris in 1729 and left behind an impressive life's work. Today, the Frenchwoman is one of the established female composers of the Baroque since the women's movement in the 1980s drew attention to her again and in 1986 a CD box with numerous compositions by the brilliant musician was released.

Compositions

Passe-pieds and Nymphs from the opera »Céphale et Procris«, libretto by Joseph-François Duché de Vancy published in 2018 by Opera Ritrovata. Performers: Ariel Pisturino and Amanda A. Keenan, Stephen Karr, Mishkar Núñez-Fredell, Boryana Popova, and Leila Núñez-Fredell, Alison Spieth Perrine, Maksim Velichkin, Nicholas Casillas

Harpsichord Suite No. 2 Prelude, published and produced by OnClassical, 2017, recorded by Saletta acustica 'Eric James', Pove del Grappa, 2017: Elisabetta Guglielmin, harpsichord

Cantate Le Sommeil d'Ulisse (Odysseus'sleep) 1715 – Aria, published by Ernst's Early Music recorded at the concert of the Quirinus Ensemble The Hague: Maria voor 't Hekke, mezzo-soprano

Disclaimer

    • Links to external websites of other providers
Mon, 06.04.2020 – Fri, 01.05.2020
Online

Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre

Feminale der Musik

Ein barockes Gemälde der Komponistin Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre

Als »Wunder unseres Jahrhunderts« wird die Komponistin Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre im Musicalischen Lexicon von 1732 betitelt. »Man kann sagen, dass niemals eine Person ihres Geschlechts ein solch großes Talent für die musikalische Komposition und für die bewundernswerte Art, mit der sie das Cembalo und die Orgel spielte, besaß.« – Edouard Titon du Tillet

Im März 1665 wird Élisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre in Paris geboren als Tochter eines Organisten und Cembalolehrers. Das Ziel der Eltern ist es, aus ihren Kindern professionelle MusikerInnen zu machen. Sie folgen damit der Familientradition, die seit mehreren Generationen MusikerInnen hervorbringt. Die Investition in eine solide musikalische Ausbildung zahlt sich aus. Ihre Tochter Elisabeth schlägt wie ihre anderen Geschwister eine musikalische Karriere ein. Bereits mit fünf Jahren spielt sie vor König Ludwig XIV, der sie ab diesem Zeitpunkt nicht nur finanziell unterstützt, sondern auch später ihre Werke aufführen lässt. 

Als Virtuosin wie als Komponistin wird sie zu Lebzeiten bekannt und anerkannt. Die Oper »Céphale et Procris«, eine tragédie-lyrique mit Prologue und fünf Akten, ist die erste, die von einer französischen Komponistin an der Opéra Paris aufgeführt wurde.

Ihr Vater stirbt 1702, nur zwei Jahre später sowohl ihr Gatte als auch ihr Sohn, worauf sie sich von der Gesellschaft zurückzieht und fast nur noch Hauskonzerte gibt. Das Publikum besteht aus der Oberschicht – aufgrund der hohen Qualität ihres musikalischen Schaffens. Komponisten und Musiker zählen ebenfalls zu den Gästen, um neue Werke vorzustellen. Sie stirbt 1729 in Paris und hinterlässt ein beeindruckendes Lebenswerk. Heute gehört die Französin zu den etablierten Komponistinnen des Barock seitdem die Frauenbewegung in den 1980er-Jahren wieder auf sie aufmerksam macht und 1986 eine CD-Box mit zahlreichen Kompositionen der genialen Musikerin erscheint.

Musikstücke

Passe-pieds und Nymphs aus der Oper »Céphale et Procris«, Libretto von Joseph-François Duché de Vancy veröffentlicht 2018 durch Opera Ritrovata. Mitwirkende: Ariel Pisturino and Amanda A. Keenan, Stephen Karr, Mishkar Núñez-Fredell, Boryana Popova, and Leila Núñez-Fredell, Alison Spieth Perrine, Maksim Velichkin, Nicholas Casillas

Cembalo Suite Nr. 2 Prelude, veröffentlicht und produziert durch OnClassical, 2017, aufgenommen von Saletta acustica 'Eric James', Pove del Grappa, 2017: Elisabetta Guglielmin, Cembalo

Cantate Le Sommeil d'Ulisse (Odysseus'sleep) 1715 – Arie, veröffentlicht durch Ernst's Early Music aufgenommen beim Konzert des Quirinus Ensemble The Hague: Maria voor 't Hekke, Mezzosopran

Feminale der Musik

Live-Interview über die Komponistin Élisabeth Jacquet De La Guerre mit Jelena Rothermel

Disclaimer

    • Links zu externen Websites Dritter
Mo, 06.04.2020 – Fr, 01.05.2020

Das ZKM ehrt Komponistinnen mit einem vierwöchigen digitalen Festival