Jürgen Claus

Year of birth, place
1935, Berlin, Germany
lives and works in
Aachen and Baelen
Role at the ZKM
Artist of the Collection, Artist of the archive
Biography

Jürgen Claus lives and works in Aachen and Baelen (Wallonia). He was a fellow and research associate at MIT in the USA and was appointed professor at the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne, which he played a major role in shaping, in 1991. 

Through environmentally conscious underwater art events, which were captured on film, among other things, Jürgen Claus achieved greater fame as an artist early in the 1960s and 1970s. Today, he is still intensively committed to sustainable policies and the protection of the oceans. Together with Nora Claus, he subsequently created solar sculptures for public spaces in order to artistically demonstrate the elementary energetic power of the sun. In 1995 he was awarded the European Solar Prize for this work. Solo exhibitions at the Kunsthalle Nuremberg, the Museum of Nature Lucerne, the Museum Reich der Kristalle Munich and the Museum of Contemporary Art IKOB Eupen proved the range of his pictorial creations. Currently, works by the artist are in museums in Duisburg, Munich, Rio de Janeiro and many private collections. Since 2021, the ZKM | Centre for Art and Media Karlsruhe has housed a large part of Jürgen Claus' artistic oeuvre in its collection and archive.

The artist, who works with a variety of media, is also author of numerous standard works on the (environmental) art of our time. These include Kunst heute (Rowohlt), Expansion der Kunst (Rowohlt), Planet Meer (DuMont Schauberg), Umweltkunst (Edition Interfrom), SonnenMeer (Wienand Verlag), Windiger Protest (Ponte Press, ed. with F. Alt, H. Scheer) with six-figure print runs.  Liebe die Kunst is the title of his autobiography, published by Kerber in collaboration with the ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe. In summer 2020, his book To the Oceans with Imagination. Planet Ocean as Medium and Culture was published in English language by Hatje Cantz (DCV).


[Last updated: December 2021]

Jürgen Claus

Geburtsjahr, Ort
1935, Berlin, Deutschland
lebt und arbeitet in
Aachen (D) und Baelen (B)
Rolle am ZKM
Künstler/in der Sammlung, Künstler/in des Archivs
Biografie

Jürgen Claus lebt und arbeitet in Aachen und Baelen (Wallonie). Er war Fellow und Research Associate am MIT in den USA und wurde 1991 an der von ihm maßgeblich mitgestalteten  Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln zum Professor berufen. 

Durch umweltbewußte Unterwasser-Kunstereignisse, die unter anderem filmisch festgehalten wurden, erlangte Jürgen Claus als Künstler bereits in den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren größere Bekanntheit. Noch heute setzt er sich intensiv für eine nachhaltige Politik und den Schutz der Ozeane ein. Gemeinsam mit Nora Claus schuf er in der Folge Solarskulpturen für den öffentlichen Raum, um auf diese Weise die elementare energetische Kraft der Sonne künstlerisch zu demonstrieren. Hierfür wurde er 1995 mit dem Europäischen Solarpreis ausgezeichnet. Einzelausstellungen an der Kunsthalle Nürnberg, am Naturmuseum Luzern, dem Museum Reich der Kristalle München und im Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst IKOB Eupen bewiesen die Bandbreite seiner Bildgestaltungen. Gegenwärtig befinden sich Werke des Künstlers in Museen in Duisburg, München, Rio de Janeiro und vielen Privatsammlungen. Seit 2021 beherbergt das ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe in seiner Sammlung und dem Archiv einen Großteil des künstlerischen Schaffens von Jürgen Claus.

Der mit vielfältigen Medien arbeitende Künstler ist zudem Autor zahlreicher Standardwerke zur (Umwelt-)Kunst unserer Zeit. Zu diesen zählen mit einer Auflagenhöhe im sechstelligen Bereich  Kunst heute (Rowohlt), Expansion der Kunst (Rowohlt), Planet Meer (DuMont Schauberg), Umweltkunst (Edition Interfrom), SonnenMeer (Wienand Verlag), Windiger Protest (Ponte Press, hg. mit F. Alt, H. Scheer).  Liebe die Kunst ist der Titel seiner Autobiografie, die bei Kerber in Zusammenarbeit mit dem ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe erschien. Im Sommer 2020 wurde sein Buch To the Oceans with Imagination. Planet Ocean as Medium and Culture bei Hatje Cantz (DCV) in englischer Sprache veröffentlicht.


[Letzte Aktualisierung: Dezember 2021]