Daniel Teruggi

Portrait of Daniel Teruggi.
Year of birth, place
1952, Argentina
Role at the ZKM
Guest Artist
Institute / Department
Institute for Music and Acoustics, Hertz-Lab
Biography

Daniel Teruggi studied physics, composition and piano in Argentina. In 1977, he moved to France where he studied at the Paris National Conservatory. In 1981, he started working at INA (Institut national de l’audiovisuel), as part of the GRM (Groupe de recherches musicales). In 1997 he become director of the GRM and kept this position until his retirement in 2017. From October 2001 to 2016, he was simultaneously Director of the research and experimentation department of INA.

In research, he actively worked on the preservation of audiovisual collections and especially in the field of electroacoustic music. He was coordinator of both the European FP6 project "PrestoSpace", dedicated to the development of new technologies for digital preservation, and the European FP7 project "PrestoPRIME", dedicated to the long-term preservation of audiovisual digital content. He has also participated in the »Prest4U« project, which analyzes the needs and perspectives for digital audiovisual preservation in various fields from educational collections to user needs.  He has been a member of the Europeana project and Foundation, general secretary and treasurer of the International Federation of Television Archives (FIAT/IFTA) as well as a founding member of the Electroacoustic Musical Studies Network (EMS) dedicated to the analysis of electroacoustic music.

Teruggi has composed more than 90 works mainly for concert settings, using either electroacoustic devices in acousmatic situations or live instruments. He is the author of numerous research articles on sound, perception and analysis of music. His works have been performed in more than 30 countries and published in various CD collections.

Being a Doctor in Art and Technology at the University of Paris VIII, he developed an important educational activity at the Paris I University around sound and the visual arts, at Paris IV Sorbonne around the analysis of electroacoustic music and more recently also with Paris Est University, Marne la Vallée, where he was responsible for the Acousmatic and Sound Arts master’s program. He has been visiting professor at the Universities of Hertfordshire (England), Technical University of Berlin, 3 of Febrero (Argentina), and SMUC of Barcelona. In 2016, he received the "SMPTE Archival Technology Medal Award" for his efforts in the preservation of audiovisual content with a focus in music.

Retired since 2018, he continues his musical activity as well as his activity in the audiovisual preservation domain.

Audio

Daniel Teruggi

Portrait von Daniel Teruggi
Geburtsjahr, Ort
1952, Argentinien
Rolle am ZKM
Gastkünstler/in
Institut / Abteilung
Institut für Musik und Akustik, Hertz-Labor
Am ZKM
  • 2022
Biografie

Daniel Teruggi studierte in Argentinien Physik, Komposition und Klavier. 1977 zog er nach Frankreich, wo er am Pariser Nationalkonservatorium studierte. 1981 begann er am INA (Institut national de l’audiovisuel) zu arbeiten, als Teil der GRM (Groupe de recherches musicales). 1997 wurde er Direktor der GRM und behielt diese Position bis zu seiner Pensionierung im Jahr 2017. Von Oktober 2001 bis 2016 war er gleichzeitig Direktor der Forschungs- und Experimentierungsabteilung des INA.

In der Forschung arbeitete er aktiv an der Erhaltung von audiovisuellen Sammlungen und insbesondere im Bereich der elektroakustischen Musik. Er war sowohl Koordinator des europäischen FP6-Projekts »PrestoSpace«, das der Entwicklung neuer Technologien für die digitale Bewahrung gewidmet ist als auch des europäischen FP7-Projekts »PrestoPRIME«, das sich mit der langfristigen Bewahrung audiovisueller digitaler Inhalte befasst. Auch war er am Projekt »Prest4U« beteiligt, das den Bedarf und die Perspektiven für die digitale audiovisuelle Bewahrung in verschiedenen Bereichen von Bildungssammlungen bis hin zu den Bedürfnissen der Nutzer:innen analysiert. Er war Mitglied des Europeana-Projekts und der Europeana Foundation, Generalsekretär und Schatzmeister der International Federation of Television Archives (FIAT/IFTA) sowie Gründungsmitglied des Electroacoustic Musical Studies Network (EMS), das sich mit der Analyse elektroakustischer Musik beschäftigt.

Teruggi hat mehr als 90 Werke hauptsächlich für Konzertsituationen komponiert, wobei er entweder elektroakustische Geräte in akusmatischen Situationen oder Live-Instrumente verwendet. Er ist Autor zahlreicher Forschungsartikel über Klang, Wahrnehmung und Analyse von Musik. Seine Werke wurden in mehr als 30 Ländern aufgeführt und in verschiedenen CD-Sammlungen veröffentlicht.

Als Doktor für Kunst und Technologie an der Universität Paris VIII entwickelte er eine wichtige pädagogische Tätigkeit an der Universität Paris I im Bereich Klang und bildende Kunst, an der Sorbonne Paris IV im Bereich der Analyse elektroakustischer Musik und zuletzt auch an der Universität Paris Est, Marne la Vallée, wo er für den Masterstudiengang Akusmatik und Klangkunst verantwortlich war. Er war Gastprofessor an den Universitäten von Hertfordshire (England), der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Universität 3 Febrero (Argentinien) und der SMUC in Barcelona. Im Jahr 2016 erhielt er den »SMPTE Archival Technology Medal Award« für seine Bemühungen um die Bewahrung audiovisueller Inhalte mit dem Schwerpunkt Musik.

Seit 2018 ist er im Ruhestand und setzt seine musikalischen Aktivitäten sowie seine Tätigkeit im Bereich der Bewahrung audiovisueller Werke fort.

Audio